Next Generation Drivers Shine on Colorado Christian University Night

(07-23-2016 Dacono, CO) Bruce Yackey and Rudy Vanderwal have won a lot of races at CNS but now it’s the next generation that is occupying winner’s circle. Kody Vanderwal (Rudy’s son) won his second straight Pro Truck feature and Brett Yackey (Bruce’s son) took home his 4th feature in the Late Models. Jamie Ward won an exciting Pure Stock feature and Danny Medina was victorious in the Legends. Last but not least Jereme Wall continued his domination in the Figure 8s winning his 7th main event of the season.

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks

#43 Kody Vanderwal from La Salle came from the rear of the field in the Snap-On Tools Pro Truck feature event to earn his second consecutive feature win. There was plenty of 2 and 3 wide racing that had the CNS fans on the edges of the seats in a race that went green from flag to flag.

Behind Vanderwal in 2nd was #9 Curtis Heldenbrand from Arvada. Third went to #34 Rudy Vanderwal and in 4th was #1 Jay Fields from Pueblo West. The final Truck in the top 5 was #2 AJ Warren from Berthoud.

AJ Warren remains the points leader by 19 over #8 Jeff Walbaum with Curtis Heldenbrand riding close behind in 3rd. The Pro Trucks will be back in action at Colorado National Speedway on Saturday August 6th.

FEATURE: #43 Kody Vanderwal
FAST DASH: #5 Troy Witthar
QUICK TIME: #43 Kody Vanderwal 17.299

Palomino Industries Late Models

With only one lap into the Palomino Industries Late Model feature the race was stopped do to a crash involving #7 Ethan Penrod, #90p Kyle Patee and #27 Wendi Lewis. None of the drivers were injured but all of the vehicles suffered race-ending damage.

When the clean-up was complete and the race resumed it was #32 Brett Yackey who had started in the rear of the field and avoided the big wreck who took control of the race and went on to win his 4th feature of the season.

#3 Wade Grove from Thronton came home 2nd, #18 Mike Valentine from Gering Nebraska was 3rd, #19 Robert Davey from Aurora was 4th and #49 Dennis Pobanz from Colorado Springs was the final car in the top 5.

Brett Yackey now leads the point standings by 28 over Ethan Penrod. The Late Models return to action Saturday July 30th.

Brett Yackey in winner's circle at CNS

Brett Yackey in winner’s circle at CNS

FEATURE: #32 Brett Yackey
FAST DASH: #7 Ethan Penrod
QUICK TIME: #18 Mike Valentine 17.837

Lincoln Tech Pure Stocks

Jaime Ward from Denver was finally rewarded for his hard work this season by winning the Lincoln College of Technology Pure Stock Feature event. Ward has been fast all season but hasn’t found pay dirt until this race. Ward’s win was dramatic as he just barely crossed the line first in front of #98 Natalie Phelps from Cheyenne.

Third place went to #31 Michael Matthiesen from Dacono, in fourth was #26 Josh Friberg from Westiminster and the final car in the top 5 was #33 Tyler Davis Lafayette.

Davis has a 14 point lead on Jamie Ward in the season standings. The Pure Stocks return to action on Saturday August 6th.

FEATURE: #21 Jamie Ward
FAST DASH: #99R Ryan Raley Jr
DASH: #98 Natalie Phelps
QUICK TIME: #7 David Robinson 20.368


Danny Medina from Colorado Springs swept the night in the Legends division setting quick time, winning the fast dash, and winning the feature. Medina came from his 8th place starting position to win the feature holding off #22 Chris Eggleston and #6 Scotty Scott. #66 Klye Clegg came in fourth and #21 Rylan Jones was fifth.

Chris Eggleston maintained his points lead in the standings by 27 over Clegg with Medina just 2 points back in 3rd place.

Danny Medina celebrates in winner's circle after taking home the Legends feature

Danny Medina celebrates in winner’s circle after taking home the Legends feature

The Legends return to CNS Saturday August 6th.

FEATURE: #15 Danny Medina
FAST DASH: #15 Danny Medina
DASH: #66 Kyle Clegg
QUICK TIME: #15 Danny Medina 18.730

Chick Fil-A Figure 8s

If there is one thing you can count on in the 2016 season it’s that #15 Jereme Wall will find a way to the front in the Chick-Fil-A Figure 8 feature and take home a win. The Figure 8s have had 7 races this season and Jereme has won them all. Wall now has a commanding 47 point lead in the standings over #50 Justin Mckeachie.

There was a scary moment in the Figure 8 feature when #10 Frank Gastineau went into the dirt and got upside down. Frank was not injured in the crash.

The top 5 in the feature were Jereme Wall from Commerce City, Justin McKeachie from Aurora, #9 Brent Cave from Thornton, #52 Jared Wall from Commerce City, and #01 Michael Haywood from Greeley.

Jeremy Wall in winner's circle at CNS

Jeremy Wall in winner’s circle at CNS

FEATURE: #15 Jereme Wall
FAST DASH: #52 Jared Wall
DASH: #67 Keith Swenson


Pro Trucks
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 43 Kody Vanderwal (R) La Salle
2. 9 Curtis Heldenbrand(R) Arvada
3. 34 Rudy Vanderwal La Salle
4. 1 Jay Fields Pueblo West
5. 2 AJ Warren Berthoud
6. 5 Troy Witthar Eastlake
7. 8 Jeff Walbaum Brighton
8. 36 Matt Burton Englewood
9. 85 Cole MacEwen(R) Ft Collins
10. 11 Steve Johnson Loveland
11. 95H Adam Hilton Brighton

Late Models
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 32 Brett Yackey Greeley
2. 3 Wade Grove Thronton
3. 18 Mike Valentine (R) Gering
4. 19 Robert Davey Aurora
5. 49 Dennis Pobanz Colorado Springs
6. 6 Jason Sharp Fountain
7. 29 Rayshawn Carter Commerce City
8. 16 Ryan McFadden Divide
9. 27 Wendi Lewis Johnstown
10. 90p Kyle Patee (R) Thornton
11. 7 Ethan Penrod Thornton

Pure Stocks
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 21 Jamie Ward Denver
2. 98 Natalie Phelps Cheyenne
3. 31 Michael Matthiesen Dacono
4. 26 Josh Friberg Westiminster
5. 33 Tyler Davis Lafayette
6. 8 David Lewis Firestone
7. 9 Darin Wainwright Littleton
8. 77 Michael Merchant LaSalle
9. 21J Jeremy Jackson Lakewood
10. 68J Matt Sowash Lakewood
11. 45 Rebecca Simpson Co Springs
12. 96R Rhonda Miller Severance
13. 38D Jesse Davis Thornton
14. 3 Brian Lengvenas Thornton
15. 7 David Robinson Johnstown
16. 00 Rachael Lynne Prouhet Denver
17. 03 Tyler Mander Evans
18. 02 Chandani Raley Thornton
19. 99R Ryan Raley Jr Thornton
20. 17j Lynette Hoselton Denver

Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 15 Danny Medina Colorado Springs
2. 22 Chris Eggleston Thornton
3. 6 Scotty Scott Arvada
4. 66 Kyle Clegg Westminster
5. 21 Ryan Jones Arvada
6. 25 Adam Pechman Morrison
7. 46 Zach Witherwax Arvada
8. 19 Larry Pachello Arvada
9. 03 Darrell L Stewart Arvada
10. 2 Chris Cox Littleton
11. 23 Austyn Radosta Pueblo
12. 32 Blair Cooper (R) Arvada
13. 20 Kynzer Riddell Westminster
14. 9 Terry McBride Edgewater
15. 1w Jereme Wall Commerce City
16. 88 Paul Himler Erie
17. 26 Chris Brunker Lakewood
18. 06 Mike Gallegos Aurora
19. 3 Wayne Barlock Jr Evans
20. 17 BreAnn Adkison Cheyenne
DNS 48 Cody Dempster (R) Parker
DQ 71x Matt Martinez (R) Parker

Figure 8s
Pos No. Name Hometown
1. 15 Jereme Wall Commerce City
2. 50 Justin McKeachie Aurora
3. 9 Brent Cave Thornton
4. 52 Jared Wall Commerce City
5. 01 Michael Haywood Greeley
6. 5 Curtis Chavez (R) Loveland
7. 67 Keith Swenson Byers
8. 17 Harry Livermore Jr. Denver
9. 97 Adam Gastineau (R) Aurora
10. 86H Shirly Thompson Northglenn
11. 69 Tammy Totos Commerce City
12. 27x Luke Zike Arvada
13. 10 Frank Gastineau Denver
14. 71 Tyler Dowler Englewood
15. 11 Joe Gastineau Denver
16. 4 Sean Smith (R) Littleton

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series NASCAR Home Tracks NASCAR K&N Series West