top of page

Mike Bernard gets his first ever Pro Truck win on Dacono Night at CNS

(04-27-2013 Dacono, CO) Mike Bernard won his first ever Snap-On Tools Pro Truck main event in dramatic fashion retaking the lead on the final lap thrilling the large CNS crowd. Rick Smith was victorious in the Gillet Vet Super Late Models and Jeff Hansen won yet again in the SUNOCO Fuels Grand American Modifieds.

Gillet Vet Clinic Super Late Models The last time the Super Late Models crossed the finish line at CNS young Jesse Runkle held off veteran Rick Smith to take the win, however on Dacono Night Gering Nebraska’s Rick Smith turned the tables and brought home the victory.

The race didn’t start off well as there was a huge crash at the drop of the green flag when the field bunched up and several cars including #6 Dominic Ursetta, #51 Eric Meisner, and #89 Kyle Shanahan were collected in the melee. Thankfully none of the drivers suffered serious injury. However major damage to their cars sent them home, unable to continue.

#66 Darren Bucklan gave Smith all he could handle when the race resumed as the two drivers raced door handle to door handle for several laps. Eventually Smith was able to secure the top spot all alone as Bucklan had to battle #11 Darren Robertson who was pressuring him for the 2nd spot. Smith built a large lead on the field but as the race neared the finish both Bucklan and Robertson had caught him and it looked as if there might be a three way battle for the win. Yet on the final lap #55 Jesse Runkle spun bringing out the caution and the end of the race since the white flag had already been displayed. Smith got the win with Bucklan and Robertson in 2nd and 3rd. #12 Bruce Yackey took home 4th and #27 Roger Avants was 5th.

MAIN EVENT WINNER: #31 Rick Smith FAST DASH WINNER: #55 Jesse Runkle DASH WINNER: #27 Roger Avants QUICK TIME: #55 Jesse Runkle  16.182

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks In what was easily the best race of the night Pro Truck #15 Mike Bernard scored his first ever main event win and did so in grand fashion on the final lap.

At the start of the feature the “pebble” Matt Burton in the #36 Truck and #27 the “ice man” Roger Avants raced side by side but when Burton got loose he fell several spots and Avants took control of the race. Mike Bernard pulled up on Avants bumper and began to challenge for the lead while #06 Adam Hilton and #41 Mark Neff battled for 3rd spot.

Just past the halfway point the race leader Avants left the track with mechanical issues relinquishing the lead to Bernard who appeared to have an easy road to his first ever victory. Yet with just two laps to go the yellow came out when #34 Rudy Vanderwal spun in turn 4. On the double-file restart seasoned veteran Mark Neff grabbed the lead from Bernard and the race appeared to be in the bag for the 41 Truck. However a determined Bernard was not to be denied as he powered his way back by Neff on the final lap as the entire CNS crowd cheered in excitement. Neff wasn’t about to give up the win easy and gave it all he had but his truck broke loose in the final turn and spun. Bernard took his first ever win, #11 Steve Johnson inherited 2nd place from the spinning Neff, Matt Burton took 3rd, #5 Troy Whittar was 4th, and #29 Matt Brunker rounded out the top 5.

MAIN EVENT WINNER: #15 Mike Bernard FAST DASH WINNER: #11 Steve Johnson DASH WINNER: #06 Adam Hilton QUICK TIME: #27 Roger Avants 16.767

SUNOCO Race Fuels Grand American Modifieds Car #44 Justin Case and #66 John Seely started off the Grand American Modified portion of Dacono Night at CNS by winning the dash races but it was the dominate #77 of Jeff Hansen who would visit victory lane once again in the feature event.

#8 Dan Alamaa, #0 Dan O’Neil, and #21 Jeff Hunter would make Hansen work for the win as they ran strong in the early stages of the race. Yet when Case and O’Neil both pulled of the track with mechanical issues it was just Alamaa, Hunter, and Hansen fighting for the lead. After a red flag for a crash involving #2 Willard Nash and #52 Jared Wall, with just 8 laps to go Hansen grabbed the lead on the restart and cruised to the win.

MAIN EVENT WINNER: #77 Jeff Hansen FAST DASH WINNER: #44 Justin Case DASH WINNER: #66 John Seely QUICK TIME: #77 Jeff Hansen 17.184

DEMOX There were enough DEMOX cars on hand that the field was split in two and two feature events were run, one for the smaller cars and one for the larger cars and trucks. The fans were treated to a part motocross part demolition derby that featured crashes, spins, and pure chaos. The DEMOX will return to CNS Saturday June 1st.


Gillet Vet Clinic Super Late Models Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 31 Rick Smith Gering  NE 08 Monte Carlo 2. 66 Darren Bucklan Greeley  CO 11 Monte Carlo 3. 11 Darren Robertson Westminster  CO 12 Impala 4. 12 Bruce Yackey Greeley  CO 12 Impala 5. 27 Roger Avants Littleton  CO 2010 Monte Carlo 6. 39 Jack Nugent Lafayette  CO 05 Impala 7. 7 Adam Deines Longmont  CO 97 Cutlass 8. 84 Matt Zwingelberg Aurora  CO 9. 78 Pete Rondeau (R)  ’11 Impala 10. 33 Emett Grazier Wheatridge  CO Monte Carlo 11. 45 Dalton Hewitt (R) Brighton  CO 12. 55 Jesse Runkle Lakewood  CO 08 Monte Carlo 13. 91 Chris Atkinson Cheyenne  WY 14. 6 Dominic Ursetta Arvada  CO 2013 Port City Impala SS 15. 51 Eric Meisner Brighton  CO 06 Camry 16. 89 Kyle Shanahan Colorado Springs  CO 12 Impala

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 15 Mike Bernard Ft Collins  CO F150 2. 11 Steve Johnson Windsor  CO 3. 36 Matt Burton Englewood  CO 08 Silverado 4. 5 Troy Whittar Eastlake  CO 04 Chevy Silverado 5. 29 Matthew Brunker Lakewood  CO 2000 Truck 6. 31 Justin Simonson Wheatridge  CO 7. 34 Rudy Vanderwal LaSalle  CO 99 Ford F150 8. 41 Mark Neff Eaton  CO 9. 23 Skylar Rhoades (R) 10. 06 Adam Hilton Brighton  CO 11. 10A Andy Bellomy (R) 12. 27 Roger Avants Littleton  CO 13. 32 Dale Reeder 14. 51 Gary Land (R)

SUNOCO Race Fuels Grand American Modifieds Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 77 Jeff Hansen Berthoud  CO 2. 21 Jeff Hunter Brighton  CO 3. 8 Dan Alamaa Colorado Springs  CO 95 Modified 4. 18A Blane Lujan 5. 24 Tim Holm 6. 66 John Seely Parker  CO 12 Impala 7. 55 Dean Olson 8. 52 Jared Wall (R) 9. 2 Willard Nash 10. 41 Alan Smith 11. 57 Kelly Balderston Pueblo West  CO 12. 44 Justin Case Brighton  CO 13. 0 Ron O’Neil (R) 14. 88 Jeff Walbaum (R)

Recent Posts

Champions crowned at CNS.

(09-28-2013 Dacono, CO) Lee Kemmit powered his GTI Camaro to the final Late Model feature win of the 2013 season but it was Gering Nebraska’s Paul Deines who brought home the season championship. Jeff

Darren Robertson wins Challenge Cup XXXIX

(09-21-2013 Dacono, CO) The only thing sure going into Challenge Cup XXXIX was that Bruce Yackey was on route to winning his 8th track championship but he would have liked to add a Challenge Cup win t


bottom of page