top of page

Preview of Challenge Cup XLVII at Colorado National Speedway

August 10th, 2022

Colorado National Speedway plays host to our biggest event of the year the Challenge Cup 150 presented by Mountain States Fire Protection this Saturday August 13th. This year’s race features a top prize of $5,000 to win with a total payout of $30,000. This race marks the 47th edition dating back to 1975 when local driver Odie Robertson won the first event. There has been a total of 34 different winners in 46 races, with Larry Phillips 1982, 1984-1986, & the “High Plains Drifter” Rick Carelli 1989, 1994-1995, 2003 being the winningest drivers in challenge cup history with 4 victories each.

Winners of 3 or More Challenge Cups:

Larry Phillips: 1982, 1984-1986

Rick Carelli: 1989, 1994, 1995, 2003

Jerry Robertson: 1996, 2002, 2004

There have only been 4 drivers who have won back-to-back Challenge Cups:

Larry Phillips: 1984-1986

Terry Phillips: 1987, 1988

Rick Carelli: 1994, 1995

Dominic Ursetta: 2014, 2015

A preview of this year’s competitors:

#43 Kody Vanderwal: Last year, Kody Vanderwal in the #43 dominated the race leading 114 of the 150 laps enroute to his first career challenge cup victory. Coming into this weekend’s race Kody has 2 starts with 2 top 10 finishes. He suffered an engine failure earlier in the season and is looking for his first win in 2022. Will Kody become only the 5th driver to win Back-to-Back Challenge Cups?

Kody Vanderwal 2021 Challenge Cup Winner CNS

#32 Brett Yackey: The current track champion Brett Yackey has 1 Challenge Cup win which came in 2018. Coming into this weekend’s event, Brett has 2 top 10s & 2 top 5 finishes including a 2nd place finish the last time the Super Late Models ran a feature race on July 9th (Feature 2). Yackey is looking to grab his 2nd Challenge Cup victory.

Brett Yackey Challenge Cup Preview 2022

#22 Chris Eggleston: It’s been more than 10 years since Chris Eggleston has won a Challenge Cup. His 2 victories came in 2009 & 2011. Eggleston, who set QuickTime at our last race on July 23rd is looking to take home his 3rd victory and become only the 4th driver to win 3 or more Challenge Cups.

Chris Eggleston Challenge Cup Preview 2022

#75 Darren Robertson: Much like his grandfather & father, Darren Robertson has 1 Challenge Cup victory that came back in 2013 making the Robertson family the only 3 generation family to win Challenge Cup. The 3-time Super Late Model Champion has yet to visit victory lane this season, however the #75 will be a threat to win this year’s race.

Darren Robertson Challenge Cup Preview 2022

#05 Nick Cooper: The current points leader and 2021 Rookie of the Year has 1 Challenge Cup start which came last year in 2021 in which he finished 6th. Cooper who is the winningest driver in 2022 with 2 victories is looking to capture his 3rd win of the season and become the 35th different driver to win Challenge Cup.

Nick Cooper Challenge Cup Preview 2022

#24 Cody Dempster: Dempster, coming into this weekend’s race is currently sitting 2nd in points. In his first Challenge Cup start in 2021, Dempster finished 3rd after starting on the pole. Cody has 1 victory this season which came on July 9th (Feature 2).

Cody Dempster Challenge Cup Preview 2022

#12 Bruce Yackey: 9-time track champion and one of the winningest super late model drivers at CNS surprisingly only has 1 Challenge Cup victory which came nearly 30 years ago in 1993. So far in 2022, Bruce has 2 top 10’s & 1 top 5 in 4 races coming into this weekend’s race.

Bruce Yackey Challenge Cup Preview 2022

#27 Roger Avants: Much like Bruce Yackey, Roger Avants also only has 1 Challenge Cup victory which came back in 2000. The 5-time Super Late Model champion has come back in 2022 and put up 2 top 10 finishes in 4 starts. Avants is always a force to be reckon with in these long races.

Roger Avants Challenge Cup Preview 2022

Competitive Rookie Class:

A wave of new rookies is making their presence known this year with outstanding runs coming into this weekend’s event.

Drivers include:

#89 Zach Morris: The 2021 Matco Tools Pro Truck Rookie of the Year will be making his first Challenge Cup start. This year’s rookie campaign in the Super Late Model has netted him 3 top 5s in 4 races and currently sits 4th in the point standings.

Zach Morris Challenge Cup Preview 2022

3c Cassidy Hinds: Cassidy, much like Morris, will be making her first Challenge Cup start. She finished 6th in last year’s Pro Truck points with 2 wins. This season in her Super Late Model rookie year, she has 2 top 10’s & 1 top 5 finish and currently sits 6th in points.

Cassidy Hinds Challenge Cup Preview 2022

An added bonus to Challenge Cup is on lap 75 there will be a halfway break in which the leader will take home an extra $1,000.

Other divisions racing this weekend include the Grand American Modifieds, Super Stocks & Figure 8’s

Grand American Modifieds:

The Grand American Modifieds have brought outstanding car counts this season and with that a ton of competition. Coming into this weekend’s race there have been 6 different winners in 7 races. Kyle Clegg has the most victories with 2, including the last race on July 30th. Winners this season include #48 Ed Vecchiarelli, #24 Nathan Gasser, #89 Jacob Smith (1st time winner), 48p Preston Peltier, #6 Scotty Scott & #51 Kyle Clegg (2).

#6 Scotty Scott was the winner of this race in 2021 and has 1 win this season on July 16th and is the current leading contender for Rookie of the Year.

Current Top 5 in Points:

1. 89 Jacob Smith 220

2. 51 Kyle Clegg 212

3. 24 Nathan Gasser 208

4. 2 Jim Douglas 193

5. 6 Scotty Scott (R) 190

Super Stock

Chris Cox in the #49 has dominated this season with 3 wins in 3 starts including the last race on July 23rd. Chris missed an earlier race this season on June 4th. The 2 time and defending track champion will look to grab his 4th win this weekend. Troy Witthar in the 1NE has been very consistent this season with 3 top 5's & 1 top 10 in 4 starts. During the 2021 Challenge Cup race, Michael Cox in the #3 was able to take home the victory.

Current Top 5 in Points:

1. 1NE Troy Witthar 138

2. 99 Sam Messerli 125

3. 49 Chris Cox 124

4. 86 Tim Coate 120

5. 9 Brent Cave 110

Figure 8’s:

The Wall brothers Jared & Jereme have dominated this season with Jared Wall winning the first 3 races of the season. Jereme Wall returned to competition and won his first time back on July 3rd. Their most recent race on June 30th was also won by Jereme Wall. #18 Dennis Stepanich III is the only driver not named Wall to win this season. Last years winner was the #7 Daniel Wood.

Current Top 5 in Points:

1. 52 Jared Wall 239

2. 08 Travis Sanders 214

3. 17 Harry Livermore Jr 209

4. 18 Dennis Stepanich III 201

5. 13M Isaac Martinez 195

Racing starts at 6:30pm. We look forward to seeing you here on Saturday August 13th for Challenge Cup XLVII presented by Mountain States Fire Protection.


bottom of page