top of page

Vanderwal wins his first in the Pro Trucks while Yackey and Smith thrill in the Super Late Models

Gillet Vet Super Late Models The 2013 points chase in the Gillet Vet Clinic Super Late Model division could not be any closer between #12 Bruce Yackey and #31 Rick Smith who have separated themselves from the rest of the pack. That battle for the points lead was highlighted in dramatic fashion on Interstate Ford Night at CNS in the feature event when the two veteran drivers battled side by side for almost the entire race.

The CNS fans were treated to one of the most competitive yet clean races you will ever see in a 40 lap feature event. Smith started on the front row outside of #55 Jesse Runkle while Yackey started in row two along side the #7 of Adam Deines.  Yackey made short work of both Deines and Runkle as he quickly moved up and then dove to the inside of Smith to challenge for the lead. From that point forward the two drivers were door to door trading the lead dozens of times, even swapping the lead multiple times in a single lap!

#6 Dominic Ursetta made a brief appearance in the battle for the lead but exited the track with mechanical problems leaving the race for Yackey and Smith to decide. With just 3 laps to go Smith and Yackey were still side by side as the fans cheered wildly in apreciation of such a great race.

On the final two laps it appeared that Smith’s tires may have started to loose the grip Rick needed to stay on the outside of Yackey and “the Moose” pulled out to a small lead and eventually took the checkered flag. In winner’s circle Yackey couldn’t have been more complimentary towards Smith who he said raced him hard yet clean.

Just 2 points now separate Yackey who leads over Smith at the top of the standings. #11 Darren Robertson who started in 6th spot finished an impressive 3rd and #39 Jack Nugent was 4th. The final spot in the top 5 went to the #55 of Jesse Runkle.

MAIN EVENT: #12 Bruce Yackey FAST DASH: #12 Bruce Yackey DASH: #27 Roger Avants QUICK TIME: #6 Dominic Ursetta 16.127

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks #34 Rudy Vanderwal started on the pole position of the Pro Truck main event with #5 Troy Whittar on the outside. When the green flag dropped Vanderwal and Whittar raced side by side with neither driver giving an inch for the first 5 laps of the race.

It didn’t take long for the green #41 Truck of Mark Neff who won the last feature event to enter the battle for the lead. Vanderwal, Neff, and Whittar, raced each other hard for dozens of laps putting on a great show for the fans.

Not to be left out of the fun #27 of Roger the “Ice Man” Avants pulled his gorgeous blue and orange truck up on Whittar’s bumper to join the battle. In the end it was Vanderwal’s night as he held Neff at bay and went on to win his first ever Pro Truck feature event. Neff crossed the line 2nd, Whittar finished a strong 3rd, Avants was 4th and #36 Matt “the Pebble” Burton rounded out the top 5. With the win Vanderwal leads the 2013 season points race by 5 points over Neff with Whittar close behind in 3rd place.

MAIN EVENT: #34 Rudy Vanderwal FAST DASH: #41 Mark Neff QUICK TIME: #41 Mark Neff 16.594

NTC Logistics Super Stocks #3 Michael Cox dominated the Super Stock portion of the Interstate Ford Night at the Races by winning the FAST DASH and winning the Feature Event. The only thing Cox didn’t capture on the night was quick time in qualifying which was set by #33 Bear Lynch with a 19.580. And it was Bear Lynch that Cox had to pass in the feature to take the win which is no easy task. The race went nearly caution free as Lynch, Cox, and #88 David Rothrock navigated lapped traffic effortlessly. With the win Cox is a mere 2 points back from 2nd in points #13 Jason Morris and only 8 points back from Lynch who has the point lead.

MAIN EVENT WINNER: #3 Michael Cox FAST DASH: #3 Michael Cox DASH: #02 Darrell Smith QUICK TIME: #33 Bear Lynch 19.580

DEMOX Kevin Kronfuss in the #777 car was victorious in the car division portion of the DEMOX while the Truck division saw #31 Dave Johnson take the win.


Super Late Models Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 12 Bruce Yackey Greeley  CO 12 Port City Impala 2. 31 Rick Smith Gering  NE 13 Chevy SS 3. 11 Darren Robertson Westminster  CO 13 Victory Circle Chevy Impala 4. 39 Jack Nugent Lafayette  CO Lefthander 5. 55 Jesse Runkle Lakewood  CO 11 Howe 6. 7 Adam Deines Longmont  CO 04 Dodge 7. 84 Matt Zwingelberg Aurora  CO  SS Fusion 8. 33 Emett Grazier Wheatridge  CO Port City Chevy 9. 66 Darren Bucklan Greeley  CO 13 Lefthander Chevy 10. 27 Roger Avants Littleton  CO 2010 Monte Carlo 11. 23 Davin Fisbeck Thornton  CO 07 Pathfinder 12. 74 Dan Savage Aurora  CO Ford 13. 14 Mark Bybee Littleton  CO 12 Howe Impala 14. 81 Derek Smith Longmont  CO 10 Impala 15. 91 Chris Atkinson Cheyenne  WY 11 Lefthander Monte Carlo 16. 6 Dominic Ursetta Arvada  CO 2013 Port City Impala SS 17. 12T Tyler Reedy (R) Fort Collins  CO 08 Port City Impala

Pro Trucks Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 34 Rudy Vanderwal LaSalle  CO 13 F150 2. 41 Mark Neff Westminster CO 3. 5 Troy Whittar Eastlake  CO 04 Chevy Silverado 4. 27 Roger Avants Littleton  CO 5. 36 Matt Burton Englewood  CO 6. 11 Steve Johnson Windsor  CO 7. 29 Matthew Brunker Lakewood  CO 8. 2 Alan Warren (R) Centennial  CO 9. 10A Andy Bellomy (R) Fort Lupton CO

Super Stocks Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 3 Michael Cox Englewood  CO 84 Grand Nat’l 2. 33 Bear Lynch 3. 88 David Rothrock Jr Golden  CO 82 Caprice 4. 13 Jason Morris Lakewood CO 77 Nova 5. 90 Kyle Patee Thornton  CO 86 Grand Prix 6. 6X Josh Parker Broomfield  CO 79 Malibu 7. 0 Andrew Mues Arvada  CO 78 Seville 8. 8 David Gee (R) Loveland CO 76 Nova 9. 02 Darrell Smith Littleton  CO 85 Caprice 10. 95 Todd Finley Brighton  CO 76 Nova 11. 18 Josheph Prante (R) Denver  CO 83 Regal 12. 11 Nick Tabor (R) Cheyenne  WY 81 Monte Carlo 13. 77 Kevin Keller Englewood  CO 79 Nova 14. 1 John Clark (R) Commerce City  CO 77 Nova 15. 10 Taylor Bellomy (R) Brighton  CO 90 Caprice DNS 99 Michael Navarro (R) DNS 72 Hans Brewster Henderson  CO DNS 61 John Humphrey Cheyenne  WY 79 GAM

Recent Posts

Champions crowned at CNS.

(09-28-2013 Dacono, CO) Lee Kemmit powered his GTI Camaro to the final Late Model feature win of the 2013 season but it was Gering Nebraska’s Paul Deines who brought home the season championship. Jeff

Darren Robertson wins Challenge Cup XXXIX

(09-21-2013 Dacono, CO) The only thing sure going into Challenge Cup XXXIX was that Bruce Yackey was on route to winning his 8th track championship but he would have liked to add a Challenge Cup win t


bottom of page