top of page

Brett Yackey Stuns in Challenge Cup XLIV Win

(10-06-2018 Dacono CO) On a brisk October Night that featured the fan-favorite trick-or-treat session with the drivers prior to the race Brett Yackey silenced all critics by picking off an all-star field of Super Late Model drivers to win the prestigious 100 lap Challenge Cup at Colorado National Speedway.

Trick-or-Treating fun prior to Challenge Cup!

Costume Contest for both the kids and the adults!


Mountain States Fire Protection Super Late Models

Greeley Colorado’s Brett Yackey scored the biggest win of his career when he dominated the Coca-Cola Challenge Cup XLIV in the Mountain States Super Late Model division. Yackey was coming off his first win in the Super Late Models on September 29th and his 2018 Galitz Transportation Late Model track championship. But to capture a season ending Challenge Cup puts the young Yackey in an elite group that includes names such as Rick Carelli, Jerry Robertson, Roger Avants, Chris Eggleston and Dominic Ursetta.

Chris Eggleston and Dominic Ursetta took turns leading the race early on (Starr photo)

Yackey started well back in the field in 8th position and methodically worked his way to front taking the lead on a lap 63 double-file restart from Dominic Ursetta. Once out front Yackey settled into a steady rhythm never facing much of a challenge from the stellar 24 car field.

#32 Brett Yackey takes the lead from #6 Dominic Ursetta (Starr photo)

With laps winding down the only car within striking distance was Brett’s father Bruce Yackey who has one Challenge Cup victory to his credit back in 1993. Bruce would go on to finish an impressive 2nd place.

In third place was the 2018 Super Late Model champ Darren Robertson who was gaining momentum around lap 80 but couldn’t reel in either Yackey in the final laps. Early leader Dominic Ursetta pulled off the track after giving up the lead to Yackey with a mechanical issue. Chris Eggleston who also led early took home a solid 4th place finish and Eddie Vecchiarelli took home 5th in the #48 car that won Challenge Cup last season driven by Preston Peltier.

Brett Yackey scores a huge Challenge Cup victory (Starr photo)

The Super Late Models head into the off-season as the most competitive division at CNS with 9 different drivers finding victory lane for feature events in 2018.

Coca-Cola Challenge Cup XLIV: #32 Brett Yackey FAST DASH: #6 Dominic Ursetta DASH: #9 Justin Simonson QUICK TIME: #48 Eddie Vechiarelli 16.612

Great Scott’s Eatery Super Stocks

A very entertaining Great Scott’s Eatery Super Stock feature event was won by #49 Chris Cox who after winning the 2017 championship only made a couple early appearances in 2018. Cox had his hands full with #32 Cody Milan, #100 Nic Brinlee and especially #11 Scott Long who was making his first CNS appearance of 2018. Long pushed Chris Cox lap after lap even taking his turn leading the race at times thrilling the crowd as the two drivers battled through lapped traffic.

#49 Chris Cox and #11 Scott Long battle for the lead (Starr photo)

While the race featured several caution flags for minor crashes and spins the battle for the lead was always in contention adding to the excitement of the event.

The Super Stocks were added to the Challenge Cup schedule a few weeks ago to have one final send off for long-time Super Stock competitor Darrell Smith who passed away just a few weeks ago.

FEATURE: #49 Chris Cox FAST DASH: #49 Chris Cox DASH: #04 William Simmons II QUICK TIME: #49 of Chris Cox 19.669


Bandolero Champion: #07 Aubrel Hilton Fast Bandolero Champion: #3 Nandini Breggin

Group A dash: #8 Danielle Walbaum Group B dash: #05 Salamon Debauche Group A fast dash: #22 Andy Jones Group B fast dash: #06 Makryrsta Hilton Feature: #8 Danielle Walbaum Fast Feature: #55 Greg Rayl

Witthar Racing Trains

The Witthar Racing Trains feature had something you might never see again in the Trains division as Jared Wall and Chad Sutherland flipped their Train as they came out of turn 4 entering the X. Jared and Chad got sideways and eventually tipped over in a shower of sparks. Both drivers were uninjured and Jared bounced out of the car to the roar of the crowd. The Slam Train went on to take the win driven by Fri and Stephanie Brown.

FEATURE: #26 Slam Train – Fri and Stephanie Brown

How to flip a Train. (photos by Starr)


Lite: #45 Todd Sally Heavy: #82 Tye Cowell


Challenge Cup

Super Late Models Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 32 Brett Yackey Greeley 2. 12 Bruce Yackey Greeley 3. 11 Darren Robertson Westminster 4. 22 Chris Eggleston Thornton 5. 48 Eddie Vecchiarelli Jr Brighton 6. 84 Matt Zwingleberg Parker 7. 37 Brain Yackey 8. 43 Kody Vanderwal LaSalle 9. 27 Roger Avants Littleton 10. 22X Mark Jones Denver 11. 19 Matthew Martinez Parker 12. 79 Brad Jenkins (R) Castle Rock 13. 29 Matt Brunker Lakewood 14. 17w Jeff Walbaum 15. 47 PJ Mattorano Commerce City 16. 6 Dominic Ursetta Arvada 17. 58 Kyle Ray Littleton 18. 6k Johnathan Knee Arvada 19. 16 Steve Mills 20. 24 Cody Dempster (R) Parker 21. 53 Nathan Gasser Lochbuie 22. 9 Justin Simonson 23. 14A Alejandro Ortiz Denver 24. 06 Adam Hilton

Super Stocks Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 49 Chris Cox Lochbuie 2. 11 Scott Long 3. 100 Nick Brinlee 4. 32 Cody Milan Ft. Collins 5. 99w Troy Witthar Arvada 6. 99s Sam Messerli Thornton 7. 43 Kody Vanderwal LaSalle 8. 3.2 Robert Davey 9. 3 Michael Cox Englewood 10. 21R Robert Hoard Cheyenne 11. 21 Christopher Nelson Arvada 12. 32 Scott Trantham 13. 67 ? 14. 06 Jeffrey Dempewolf Hudson 15. 02 Jamie Ward 16. 30 Jared Keener* Westminster 17. 21K Jay Hill 18. 52 Chad Southerland 19. 60 20. 53 David Noah (R) Lakewood 21. 19 Shelby Cortese Thornton 22. 04 William Simmons II Pueblo 23. 02 Sean Smith 24. 55 Damian Lockhart Arvada 25. 31 Mike Mathiesen 26. 22 Chris Pinelli 27. 23 Harry Livermore Jr

Trains Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 26 Slam Trak Fri and Stephanie Brown 2. 8 Anger Management Kelly and Keanna 3. 86 Last Call Kathy Calkins and Betty Boop 4. 311 Bipolar Express Cassie and Robert 5. 13 Crazy Train Jared Wall and Chad Sutherland 6. 5 Hearse Train Alex and Alegra

Fast Bandoleros Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 55 Greg Rayl Watkins 2. 78 Brody Moore Dillon 3. 3 Nandini Breggin 4. 7X Kate Morse 5. 06 Mahkrysta Hilton Brighton 6. 18 Chello Milligan 7. 22 Andy Jones Littleton 8. 03 Isaac Almaswari Lochbuie 9. 16 Cullen Lewis Aurora

Bandolero Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 07 Aubrel Hilton Brighton 2. 51 Hutson Milligan 3. 17 Cooper Lewis Aurora 4. 52 Nic Wall Commerce City 5. 11 Corey Sefcovic Brighton 6. 99 Isaiah Scott Cheyenne 7. 05 Salamon DeBauche Denver 8. 29 Ashlee Richard Henderson 9. 82 Teagan Scott Cheyenne DQ 8 Danielle Walbaum Brighton


bottom of page