top of page

Kemmit Overcomes Bad Luck in the Battle of the Fenders II

57 cars of all types rumbled to the green flag for the 300 lap Battle of the Fenders II at CNS on a chilly November afternoon at CNS. Pure Stocks, Super Stocks, Hornets, a Truck, a few Dirt Stock Cars, a couple vintage Camaro Late Models and even a modern day Late Model were all banging doors together in what could only be described as organized chaos on the track.


Steve Mills in his #16 Late Model was clearly the fastest car on the track in the early stages but it’s a marathon and not a sprint in an enduro race. DJ Banks was thrilling the crowd in his 6j dirt stock car flying into the corners passing slower lapped cars with daring abandonment. But it was Lee Kemmit in his 70’s era Camaro Stock Car that was consistently running in 2nd or 3rd keeping the leader in sight. However at the halfway mark Kemmit’s Camaro had a flat tire causing him to start the second half of the race a lap down!


Mills and #49 Chris Cox now seemed to be completely in control of the race but Kemmit was flying on the new rubber and was cutting laps well over a second faster as he began to reel in the leaders. It was only a matter of time before Kemmit caught the leaders and cruised right on past to take the lead.


It sprinkled rain on and off during the race which hampered some of the cars more than others but nothing seemed to be slowing Kemmit who eventually lapped the entire field and take the double checkered flag and the big check for $2,500. Mills hung on for 2nd place with 99s Sam Messerli in 3rd.


The highest finishing 4 cylinder entries were: #15 Jereme Wall, 24b Lanny Bolton and #11 Scott Long.

Battle of the Fenders III will be on the same weekend next year!!


Pos No. Name 1. 90 Lee Kemmit 2. 16 Steve Mills 3. 99s Sam Messerli 4. 18 Ryan Moser 5. 23G Michael Gallo 6. 6j DJ Banks 7. 33x Danny Sutherland 8. 49 Chris Cox 9. 00 Jake Fitzgerald 10. 04 Brent Cave 11. 90D Frank Denning Jr 12. 06 Jeff Dempewolf 13. 02 Jeremy Jackson 14. 15 Jereme Wall 15. 24b Lanny Bolton 16. 33s Chad Denman 17. 02 Cole Whitford 18. 3T Christopher Galvin 19. 76 Maharysta Hilton 20. 222 David Wheeler 21. 11x Clint Johnson 22. 11l Scott Long 23. 5 Mitch Bolton 24. 25 Eric Johnson 25. 02 Sean Smith 26. 884 Aaron Paulsen 27. 24 Scott Miller Matthew Kountz 28. 1 Jared Wall 29. 55 Samuel Brookhart 30. 17 ?? 31. 42 David Neff 32. 27 ?? 33. 7 Adam Hilton 34. 37 Scott Dent 35. 21 Corey McCarney 36. 21 Alexander Rodriguez 37. 5 Yellow 38. 99jr Ryan Raley jr 39. 73J Justin Rainwater 40. 13 Zach Davenport 41. 65 Christopher White 42. 27 Neil Davis 43. 22 Jay Hill 44. 8J Joseph Alvarado 45. 991 Robert Davey 46. 85 Larry Jackson 47. 11M Mindy Gasser 48. 62 Cole MacEwen 49. 68 Tom McCarty 50. 15 Sean French 51. 70 Black with Red 52. 069 Blue 53. 41 ?? 54. 6b David Banks 55. 02 Jeremy Jackson 56. 02 Cole Whitford


bottom of page