top of page

Pure Stocks Exciting Debut has Fans Cheering at CNS

(05-11-2013 Dacono, CO) Mother’s Day at CNS brought out a large crowd who were treated to some great racing in the Late Model Division and the brand new Pure Stock Division that put on one of the best races in recent memory.

Pair A Dice Interior Finishes Late Models With #98 Lee Kemmit starting all the way back in 10th spot in the late model main event it was anybody’s race to win. #84 Bruce Borchardt took advantage of his pole position starting spot and quickly built a large lead on the field. The large field of Late Models were putting on a great show as there were tight battles for position all over the race track. Both Lee Kemmit and #8 Jeff Walbaum were working their way to the front when a caution came out for a spin at the back of the field. Walbaum took advantage of the restart and rocketed to the lead. Kemmit had moved past Borchardt and was now in second spot attempting to track down Walbaum for the lead. However, Walbam expertly navigated slower traffic and did not allow Kemmit to catch him as he went on to win by just a couple car lengths. Kemmit settled for 2nd place while #17 Gering Nebraska’s Paul Deines made a late race pass on Borchardt to take the 3rd spot. Behind Borchardt in 4th place was rookie drive Ethan Penrod in the #7 car.

MAIN EVENT:  #8 Jeff Walbaum FAST DASH: #98 Lee Kemmit DASH: #58 Jeff Webb QUICK TIME: #8 Jeff Walbaum 17.659

SUNOCO Race Fuels Grand American Modifieds The SUNOCO Fuels Grand American Modified main event went green flag from start to finish and it was the dominate #77 of Jeff Hansen who led every lap to take the win. #0 Ron O’Neil (who eventually came in 2nd) gave Hansen a short battle at the start of the race but the smooth Hansen was just too fast for the rest of the field to handle. #8 Dan Alamaa from Colorado Springs took home 3rd spot and #44 Justin Case was 4th.

MAIN EVENT: #77 Jeff Hansen FAST DASH: #44 Justin Case DASH: #55 Dean Olson QUICK TIME: #77 Jeff Hansen 17.096

Lincoln College of Technology Pure Stocks Nobody would have guessed coming in to this event that the Pure Stocks would put on one of the most exciting races the track has seen in several years. The Pure Stocks are a new division designed to be a true entry level race car for drivers that want to get started in racing. These cars look much like the Super Stocks yet are more limited to reduce costs and the drivers must not compete in other divisions. In the main event there were two awesome battles on the track, racing for 3rd spot the #4 of Brian Galvin and #10 Mike Bellamy were giving it all they had in a wild side by side battle for position. But the battle for the lead had the entire CNS crowd on their feet. #06 Lloyd Dempwolf in a station wagon and #12 Jamie Ward were banging doors fighting for the win lap after lap. Lloyd had the lead with one lap to remaining but Ward powered by Lloyd to take the lead. However Dempfolf was determined and got back by Ward to take the win. For many of these drivers it was their first ever taste of racing and the the crowd was screaming at the top of their lungs enjoying the show that these drivers put on. Dempwolf took the win by just a couple feet over Ward. Galvin finished in 3rd and Bellomy was 4th. Rounding out the top 5 was Mike Alvarado in the #48 car.

MAIN EVENT: #06 Lloyd Dempwolf FAST DASH: #06 Lloyd Dempwolf QUICK TIME: #13 Jamie Ward 21.317

Art’s Septic Figure 8’ Dash winner #26 Nick “the quick” Martinez had to leave the track early in the feature event due to a fuel leak, yet a series of yellow flags allowed Nick to fix his car and restart the race without losing a lap. And as if shot out of a cannon Nick sped through the field taking over the lead position in just two laps. Trouble befell other race contenders such as #17 Harry Livermore Jr., #23 Big Al Duran and #50 Justin McKeachie which allowed Martinez to build a massive lead. In fact the only car within a straightway of Nick was the #2 car of Lance Proctor.

MAIN EVENT: #26 Nick Martinez FAST DASH: #26 Nick Martinez


Pair A Dice Interior Finishes Late Models Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 8 Jeff Walbaum Brighton CO 08 Impala 2. 98 Lee Kemmit Thornton CO 08 Charger 3. 17 Paul Deines Gering NE ’08 Impala 4. 84 Bruce Borchardt Lafayette CO 03 Grand Prix 5. 7 Ethan Penrod (R) Thornton CO ’03 Grand Prix 6. 41 Dale Reeder Westminster CO 08 Charger 7. 3 Wade Grove Thornton CO ’04 Impala 8. 46 Eric Blackard Lakewood CO 03 Monte Carlo 9. 67 Stephanie Brown Littleton CO 07 Impala 10. 24 Joe Martinez (R) Centennial CO Monte Carlo 11. 99 Nick Brinlee Broomfield CO 78 Cutlass 12. 19 Scott Miller (R) Brighton CO 11 Camaro 13. 58 Jeff Webb Arvada CO 05 Monte Carlo 14. 22 Joe Matlock (R) Aurora CO ’03 Dodge Avenger 15. 72 Gary Cagle Fort Collins CO 03 Taurus 16. 30 Jan Oxley Ft. Lupton CO 03 Monte Carlo 17. 27 Wendi Lewis Johnstown CO 02 Grand Prix 18. 28 Alan Carter Commerce City CO ’10 Monte Carlo 19. 07 Gary Lee Dickard Jr (R) Rifle CO ’08 Impalla 20. 29 Lyle Mein (R) Frederick CO

SUNOCO Grand American Modifieds Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 77 Jeff Hansen Berthoud CO 2. 0 Ron O’Neil (R) 3. 8 Dan Alamaa Colorado Springs CO 95 Modified 4. 44 Justin Case Brighton CO 5. 21 Jeff Hunter Brighton CO 6. 55 Dean Olson 7. 66 John Seely Parker CO 12 Impala 8. 57 Kelly Balderston Pueblo West CO 9. 52 Jared Wall (R) 10. 57B Brady Balderston Highlands Ranch CO 11. 24 Tim Holm (R)

Lincoln College of Technology Pure Stocks Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 06 Lloyd Dempwolf 2. 13 Jamie Ward 3. 4 Brian Galvin 4. 10 Mike Bellomy 5. 48 Mike Alvarodo 6. 84 Daniel Mares 7. 97 Makayla Grote DNS 07 Mike Steward

Art’s Septic Service Figure 8’s Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 26 Nick Martinez Denver CO 2. 2 Lance Proctor 3. 03 Luke Zike Morrison CO 4. 15 Jereme Wall Commerce City CO 72 Chevy 5. 23 Al Duran Lakewood CO 6. 12 Harvey Webb Jr Northglenn 74 Camaro 7. 50 Justin McKeachie Aurora CO 8. 14 James Donaldson Arvada CO 99 Monte Carlo 9. 17 Harry Livermore Jr Englewood CO 77 Nova 10. 10 Frank Gastineau Denver CO 64 Chevy

Recent Posts

Champions crowned at CNS.

(09-28-2013 Dacono, CO) Lee Kemmit powered his GTI Camaro to the final Late Model feature win of the 2013 season but it was Gering Nebraska’s Paul Deines who brought home the season championship. Jeff

Darren Robertson wins Challenge Cup XXXIX

(09-21-2013 Dacono, CO) The only thing sure going into Challenge Cup XXXIX was that Bruce Yackey was on route to winning his 8th track championship but he would have liked to add a Challenge Cup win t


bottom of page