top of page

Vanderwal Makes a Late Race Pass to Win the First Pro Truck Feature of 2015

(04-11-2015 Dacono Colorado) – Rudy Vanderwal took advantage of a late race caution to get back around Adam Deines and regain the lead to win the first Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks feature of 2015. In the South Philly Cheesesteak Late Models Jeff Walbaum dominated the field to take the win as did Kyle Clegg in the RMLRA Legend Car division. And finally the CNS were treated to a the wild carnage that is DEMOX to close out the night.


Rudy Vanderwal leads the field in the Pro Truck feature (Starr photo)

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks #82 Michael Scott and #11 Steve Johnson paced the field at the start of the Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks feature event. Scott who looked fast in his dash appeared to have the lead coming out of turns one and two but got loose and spun going down the backstretch. As the drivers skillfully scrambled to miss the spinning Scott, amazingly only #06 Chris Cox and #5 Troy Witthar suffered cosmetic damage to their trucks in the melee. Scott’s truck was unable to continue and his night was done.

After a brief cleanup the Truck feature lined up for an original restart and this time #11 Steve Johnson grabbed the lead with last year’s champ Rudy Vanderwal in the red #34 truck moving into 2nd place. Things heated up quickly as the bright yellow #7 of Adam Deines made it a three truck battle for the lead. After Vanderwal and Deines cleared Johnson the #36 truck of Matt Burton joined the battle up front. The action between the leaders battling for position was indicative of how exciting the truck division has been the last few years.

With 15 laps to go disaster struck as #8 Jeff Walbaum and #0 Billy Harkins tangled in turn 4 sending both trucks sliding hard into the front straight wall. The extremely violent impact silenced the CNS crowd until both drivers jumped from the wreckage under their own power and a cheer of relief swept through the grandstands.


#7 Adam Deines tries to hold off Rudy Vanderwal in the Pro Truck feature (Starr photo)


The Pro Trucks return to action April 25th at CNS.

FEATURE: #34 Rudy Vanderwal FAST DASH: #36 Matt Burton DASH: #06 Chris Cox QUICK TIME: #34 Rudy Vanderwal 16.598

South Philly Cheesteak Late Models


A large field of Late Models comes to the green flag for the feature (Starr photo)

An impressive field of 18 South Philly Cheesesteak Late Models rumbled to the green flag at the start of a 30 lap feature event. #31 Derek Smith grabbed the early lead but it wasn’t long before the familiar #8 of last year’s champion Jeff Walbaum overtook Smith for the top spot. Behind Smith, #41 Mark Neff and #7 Ethan Penrod were putting on a great show racing doorhandle to doorhandle lap after lap.


#31 Derek Smith on the inside of eventual race winner #8 Jeff Walbaum (Starr photo)

With just 10 laps to go it was Walbaum, Smith, #98 Lee Kemmit, Neff, and youngster Brett Yackey in the #32 machine. While Penrod was able to pass Smith for second place there was no stopping Walbaum who took the checkered flag and continued his dominance of the Late Model division.

The Late Models will return to action on May 2nd and CNS.

FEATURE: #8 Jeff Walbaum FAST DASH: #8 Jeff Walbaum DASH: #03 Wade Grove QUICK TIME: #7 Ethan Penrod 17.573


The RMRLA Lengend cars prepare for a restart in the feature event (Starr photo)

RMLRA Legends

#66 Kyle Clegg finished 2014 strong so it wasn’t any surprise that he quickly jumped out to a large lead at the start of the Legend feature. Behind Clegg, #30 Darrell Stewart, #13 Pete Dellarco, #46 Zach Witherwax, and #6 Scotty Scott jockeyed for position. As the driver’s settled into the flow of the race #15 Danny Medina and #13 Pete Dellarco were doing their best to catch Clegg but the two made contact and spun in turn 3 and were sent to the rear of the field. Medina’s misfortune ended up being one of the highlights of the evening as he thrilled the CNS fans blazing a trail through the field passing cars low and high.


#6 Scotty Scott was fast but not fast enough to stop #66 Kyle Clegg who took the win (Starr photo)

Yet there was no stopping Clegg who cruised to the easy win. Scotty Scott took an impressive 2nd place while Medina clawed his way to 3rd. #25 Adam Pechman finished 4th and Figure 8 star Jereme Wall finished 5th in the 1w car.

The Legends return to CNS Saturday May 2nd.

FEATURE: #66 Kyle Clegg FAST DASH: #66 Kyle Clegg DASH: #19 Larry Pachello QUICK TIME: #15 Danny Medina 18.705

DEMOX Flips, crashes, bending metal, and cars catching major air over the dirt mounds in the CNS in-field are all part of the excitement of the DEMOX. It’s like a demotion derby mixed with a motocross for cars and trucks. DEMOX is a wild thrill-ride and a fan-favorite at Colorado National Speedway. In the car division #340 Levi Wolf outlasted the competition to take the win. The truck division was won by #39 Jeremy Lang. The DEMOX returns to action at CNS on May 2nd.

DEMOX Cars: #340 Levi Wolf DEMOX Trucks: #39 Jeremy Lang


Pro Trucks Pos No. Name 1. 34 Rudy Vanderwal 2. 7 Adam Deines 3. 36 Matt Burton 4. 17 Scott Rhoades 5. 5 Troy Witthar 6. 06 Chris Cox 7. 65 George Green (R) 8. 47 Jesse Seigel (R) 9. 28 Sterling Martinz (R) 10. 11 Steve Johnson 11. 91 Cole Whitford (R) 12. 10T Taylor Bellomy 13. 0 Bill Harkins 14. 8 Jeffrey Walbaum (R) 15. 82 Michael Scott

Late Models Pos No. Name 1. 8 Jeff Walbaum 2. 7 Ethan Penrod 3. 31 Derek Smith 4. 98 Lee Kemmit 5. 32 Brett Yackey (R) 6. 42 Mark Neff 7. 15G Nathan Gasser 8. 08 Jace Hansen 9. 99 Nick Brinlee 10. 3 Wade Grove 11. 28 Alan Carter 12. 01 Tommy Powers 13. 30 Jan Oxley 14. 11 Monte Paulsen 15. 27 Wendi Lewis2 16. 9 Len Brinlee (R) 17. 72 Gary Cagle 18. 29 Rayshawn Carter

LEGENDS Pos No. Name 1. 66 Kyle Clegg 2. 6 Scotty Scott 3. 15 Danny Medina 4. 25 Adam Pechman 5. 1w Jereme Wall 6. 03 Darrell L Stewart 7. 30 Darrell J Stewart 8. 46 Zachary Witherwax 9. 14 Chappy Adkins 10. 13 Pete Dellarco 11. 7 Corey Seip 12. 83 Donald Bedore 13. 85 Dave McCray (R) 14. 19 Larry Pachello 15. 20 Kynzer Riddell 16. 11 Jessica Savage 17. 09 Terry McBride 18. 53 Luke Johnson (R) 19. 77 Josiah King (R) 20. 28 Donald Brunker (R) 21. 23 Austyn Radosta (R) 22. 97 Bill Blevins DQ 06 Mike Gallegos

DEMOX DEMOX Cars: #340 Levi Wolf DEMOX Trucks: #39 Jeremy Lang


bottom of page