top of page

Yackey holds off the young-guns to grab his first victory of the 2013 season.

(05-04-2013 Dacono, CO) Bruce Yackey had his hands full with young Darren Robertson and Matt Zwingelberg but in the end it was the multi-time track champion Bruce “the Moose” Yackey taking home his first win of the 2013 season.

Gillet Vet Super Late Models Last years track champion #12 Bruce Yackey and #11 Darren Robertson paced the field at the start of the 40 lap Gillet Vet Clinic Super Late Model main event. It appeared that Yackey might jump out to an early lead but the young Robertson blew past Yackey and took an early 2 car length lead on the field.

Another young-gun #55 Jesse Runkle took over second position and began to pressure Robertson for the lead. Entering turn 4 Runkle got into Robertson’s rear quarter panel and spun Darren which brought out the yellow flag. Runkle was sent to the rear and Robertson was given his spot back up front.

On the restart the crafty veteran Yackey assumed the lead of the race and it appeared he would be on pace for an easy victory. Yet Robertson wasn’t going down easy as he powered his way back to the front past “the Moose” in thrilling fashion. Unfortunately for Robertson a spin at the back of the field brought out the caution and a double-file restart was in order. Robertson’s car appeared to struggle on the restart and he was shuffled back several spots.

Yackey who was out in front again was now receiving pressure from another up-and-coming star, Matt Zwingelberg in the #84 car. Directly behind Zwingelberg was #27 Roger Avants and #66 Darren Bucklan who were slowing gaining on the race leaders. Try as he might Zwingelberg could not get past Yackey who found the perfect groove and drove on to winner’s circle with a huge victory. Zwingelberg finished a close 2nd, Avants 3rd, Bucklan 4th, and Robertson settled for 5th.

MAIN EVENT WINNER: #12 Bruce Yackey FAST DASH WINNER: #7 Adam Deines DASH WINNER: #27 Roger Avants QUICK TIME: #39 Jack Nugent 16.083

NTC Logistics Super Stocks

After the red flag cleanup was complete the race resumed and #13 Jason Morris had a slim lead over the surprising #10 Taylor Bellomy in his late model Caprice. It appeared that Bellomy was faster on the low side while Morris was quicker up top. Lap after lap Bellomy poked his nose down under Morris yet was never able to make the pass.

Behind the two leaders #33 Bear Lynch, #3 Michael Cox, #90 Kyle Patee were inching up to make their own bid for the lead but nobody could catch “Racin” Jason Morris as he grabbed a well deserved and hard fought victory.

MAIN EVENT WINNER: #13 Jason Morris FAST DASH WINNER: #33 Bear Lynch DASH WINNER: #99 Michael Navarro QUICK TIME: #33 Bear Lynch 19.395

Legends An amazing field of 28 Legend Cars checked in for their first race of the 2013 season at CNS. Each DASH race could have been considered a feature event due to the huge field of cars. #15 Danny Medina grabbed the Fast Dash and #84 Mike Webber took the win in the regular dash.

That setup a dramatic feature event with all 28 Legend cars on the track at the same time. At the start of the race #06 Mike Gallegos took the lead with #58 Kyle Ray and #15 Danny Medina hot on his tail. The determined Medina grabbed the lead from Gallegos but now the fastest car on the track appeared to be the #22 of Chris Eggleston who was all over the back of Medina.

#66 Kyle Clegg who had mechanical trouble in his Dash had joined the top 5 as the leaders began to encounter lapped traffic.

The CNS fans were on the edge of their seat as Medina, Eggleston, Ray, Gallegos and Clegg put on a clinic slicing their way past slower cars. High, and low, sometimes 3 and 4 abreast the leaders made daring passes on lapped cars to maintain their positions.

In the end Medina was able to bring his car to the finish line first and hold off Eggleston for the win. Ray took home 3rd, Gallegos was 4th, and Clegg rounded out the top 5 in what was an extremely entertaining race.

MAIN EVENT WINNER: #15 Danny Medina FAST DASH WINNER: #15 Danny Medina DASH WINNER: #84 Mike Webber QUICK TIME: #22 Chris Eggleston 18.778

Whittar Racing Trains You might believe that the Trains division couldn’t get more insane yet on this night they ran in the opposite direction on the track. As if it were shot out of a cannon the #86 Last Call Train ran the entire race in what appeared to be full throttle. No other train came near the #86 Train (well besides near misses in the X).


Super Late Models Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 12 Bruce Yackey Greeley  CO 12 Impala 2. 84 Matt Zwingelberg Aurora  CO 3. 27 Roger Avants Littleton  CO 2010 Monte Carlo 4. 66 Darren Bucklan Greeley  CO 11 Monte Carlo 5. 11 Darren Robertson Westminster  CO 12 Impala 6. 7 Adam Deines Longmont  CO 97 Cutlass 7. 31 Rick Smith Gering  NE 08 Monte Carlo 8. 55 Jesse Runkle Lakewood  CO 08 Monte Carlo 9. 91 Chris Atkinson Cheyenne  WY 10. 39 Jack Nugent Lafayette  CO 05 Impala 11. 45 Dalton Hewitt (R) Brighton  CO 12. 33 Emett Grazier Wheatridge  CO Monte Carlo 13. 25 Monty Skinner 14. 74 Dan Savage Aurora  CO 08 SS 15. 51 Eric Meisner Brighton  CO 06 Camry

Super Stocks Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 13 Jason Morris Lakewood CO 77 Nova 2. 33 Bear Lynch 3. 3 Michael Cox Littleton  CO 84 Grand Nat’l 4. 90 Kyle Patee Thornton  CO 75 Chevelle 5. 02 Darrell Smith Littleton  CO 85 Caprice 6. 10 Taylor Bellomy Brighton  CO 90 Caprice 7. 0 Andrew Mues Arvada  CO 78 Seville 8. 88 David Rothrock Jr Golden  CO 82 Caprice 9. 6X Josh Parker Broomfield  CO 79 Malibu 10. 8 David Gee (R) Loveland CO 76 Nova 11. 44 Dave Rothrock Sr 12. 98 Tony Dugan (R) Commerce City  CO Monte Cutlass 13. 11 Nick Tabor (R) Cheyenne  WY 81 Monte Carlo 14. 99 Michael Navarro (R) 15. 2 Rusty Meranda (R)  87 Regal 16. 1 John Clark (R) Commerce City  CO 77 Nova 17. 76 Russell Darnell (R) Dacono  CO 78 Grand Prix 18. 18 Josheph Prante (R) Denver  CO 83 Regal 19. 9 Curtis Heldenbrand (R) Arvada  CO 87 Caprice 20. 77 Kevin Keller Englewood  CO 79 Nova DNS 9c Brent Cave

Legend Cars Pos  No.  Name  Hometown  Car Info 1.  15  Danny Medina  Colorado Springs CO 2.  22  Chris Eggleson  Erie CO 3.  58  Kyle Ray  Littleton CO  34 Ford 4.  06  Mike Gallegos  Wheatridge CO  Chevy 5.  66  Kyle Clegg  Westminster CO 6.  34  Chris Cooper  Frederick CO 7.  21  Ryan Jones  Arvada CO  34 Ford Coupe 8.  03  Darrell Stewart 9.  37  Josh Richard  Peyton CO 10.  07  Bill Seip  Parker CO 11.  84  Mike Webber  Erie CO  37 Chevy 12.  46  Zach Witherwax  Lakewood CO 13.  25  Adam Pechman  Morrison CO  37 Sedan 14.  61  Sidney Ross (R) 15.  19  Larry Pachello  Wheatridge CO 16.  20  Kynzer Riddell (R)  Westminster CO  37 Ford 17.  97  Billy Blevins  Arvada CO  37 Sedan 18.  14  Chappy Adkins (R) 19.  26  Christopher Brunker  Lakewood CO 20.  11  Jessica Savage  Aurora CO  37 Sedan 21.  04  Dillon Foster (R) 22.  31  Tim Mein 23.  09  Terry McBride (R) 24.  17  BreAnn Adkison  (R) 25.  12  Cody Castor  Bennett Co  ’37 Dodge Sedan 26.  1  Jereme Wall (R)  Commerce City CO 27.  3  Wayne Barlock JR  Evans CO  37 Ford 28.  6  Scotty Scott  Arvada CO  34 Ford Coupe

Whitthar Racing Trains Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 86 Last Call 2. 2 Train 2 3. 13 Crazy Train 4. 67 Scooby Machine 5. 0 0 Train 6. 36 Jake & Kyle 7. 5 Lange/Johnson

Recent Posts

Champions crowned at CNS.

(09-28-2013 Dacono, CO) Lee Kemmit powered his GTI Camaro to the final Late Model feature win of the 2013 season but it was Gering Nebraska’s Paul Deines who brought home the season championship. Jeff

Darren Robertson wins Challenge Cup XXXIX

(09-21-2013 Dacono, CO) The only thing sure going into Challenge Cup XXXIX was that Bruce Yackey was on route to winning his 8th track championship but he would have liked to add a Challenge Cup win t

bottom of page