top of page

SUNOCO Fuels High Octane Night is dominated by Lee Kemmit in his new Camaro

(04-13-2013 Dacono, CO) On an emotional night for the Pro Truck division young Adam Hilton won his first ever main event. Lee Kemmit christened his new Camaro with a visit to winner’s circle in the new Late Model division and Jeff Hansen picked up where he left off last year in the Grand American Modified division.

Pair A Dice Interior Finishes Late Models This season at CNS the Sportsman division has undergone a name change, the cars are now called Late Models, and last years Late Model division is referred to as the Super Late Model division. Another exciting rule change allows the drivers to run the newest body styles. Two drivers that have already adopted these new body styles are #98 Lee Kemmit who is sporting a brand new Camaro, and #99 Nick Brinlee who debuted his new Dodge Challenger. These new body styles add an exciting and unique appearance to the field and have already become fan favorites.

One thing that hasn’t changed in this division is Lee Kemmit’s domination of the field as he quickly moved to the front from his 4th place starting spot to win the main event by an entire straightaway. The race went green the entire 30 laps as the lead drivers displayed skill in navigating lapped traffic. At the finish behind Kemmit was the #17 of Paul Deines, fast dash winner #84 Bruce Borchardt in 3rd, #8 Jeff Walbaum in 4th, and #76 Chad Cowan in 5th who also set quick time in qualifying.

MAIN EVENT WINNER: #98 Lee Kemmit FAST DASH WINNER: #84 Bruce Borchardt DASH WINNER: #28 Alan Carter QUICK TIME: #76 Chad Cowan 17.681

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks It was a bittersweet 2013 inaugural event for the Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks at CNS. While the drivers were excited and anxious to get back to racing they also paid tribute to their friend and former track champion Chris Leaf who lost his life in a motorcycle accident over the winter. In a touching ceremony the black #07 of Leaf was brought out onto the track for 7 laps and then parked at the finish line. The entire field of Pro Truck drivers surrounded Chris’s truck and pointed to the sky in a tear-jerking farewell to their lost competitor.

When the main event lined up it was the black #36 of “the pebble” Matt Burton on the pole position with the red #34 of Rudy Vanderwal on the outside. Burton and Vanderwal thrilled the crowd with some great side-by side racing early on. Eventually Vanderwal secured the top spot and set his sights on the win. At the halfway mark it was Vanderwal up front with #06 Adam Hilton in tow, Burton was 3rd, #41 Mark Neff in 4th, and last years champ #31 Justin Simonson in 5th. When Vanderwal slightly bobbled coming out of turn 4 young Adam Hilton pounced on the opportunity and took the lead. Hilton never looked back and went on to win his first ever Pro Truck main event. Vanderwal maintained 2nd, Neff moved up to take 3rd spot, Burton hung on for 4th with Simonson in 5th.

MAIN EVENT WINNER: #06 Adam Hilton FAST DASH WINNER: #34 Rudy Vanderwal DASH WINNER: #5 Troy Whittar QUICK TIME: #11 Steve Johnson 16.678

SUNOCO Fuels Grand American Modifieds The first night of racing in the 2013 season for the Sunoco Grand American Modifieds began with some spectacularly close dash racing. 18A Blane Lujan narrowly beat #55 Dean Olsen in the first dash and #8 Dan Alamaa nipped #77 Jeff Hansen in the fast dash in what appeared to be a photo finish. Yet when the feature event was complete it was the familiar #77 of “Flippy” Jeff Hansen that was once again collecting the trophy in winner’s circle. Hansen worked his way up from his 6th starting spot having to earn his victory with grueling battles for each position. The #0 of Don O’Neil led the race early yet after Hansen got by #21 Jeff Hunter and the #8 of Alamaa it was just O’Niel and “flippy” battling for the lead. With just 5 laps to go Hansen took control of the race from O’Neil and cruised to the win. Impressive rookie Dan O’Neil finished 2nd, Alamaa hung on for 3rd, Hunter was 4th and #24 Tim Holm rounded out the top 5.

MAIN EVENT WINNER: #77 Jeff Hansen FAST DASH WINNER: #8 Dan Alamaa DASH WINNER: 18A Blane Lujan QUICK TIME: #77 Jeff Hansen 17.167

XTREME TRUCKS The Xtreme Trucks made their 2013 Debut at Colorado National Speedway and provided some wild entertainment. At the start of the race one of the did a massive “endo” flipping over several times and catching lots of air. Thankfully the driver walked away uninjured.


Pair A Dice Interior Finishes Late Models Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 98 Lee Kemmit Thornton  CO 08 Charger 2. 17 Paul Deines Gering  NE ’08 Impala 3. 84 Bruce Borchardt Lafayette  CO 03 Grand Prix 4. 8 Jeff Walbaum Brighton  CO 03 Impala 5. 76 Chad Cowan Gering  NE 08 Monte Carlo 6. 3 Wade Grove Thornton  CO ’04 Impala 7. 41 Dale Reeder Westminster  CO 08 Charger 8. 7 Ethan Penrod (R) Thornton  CO ’03 Grand Prix 9. 19 Scott Miller (R) Brighton  CO Monte Carlo 10. 28 Alan Carter Commerce City  CO ’10 Monte Carlo 11. 67 Stephanie Brown Littleton  CO 07 Impala 12. 30 Jan Oxley 13. 99 Nick Brinlee Broomfield  CO 78 Cutlass 14. 24 Joe Martinez (R) Centennial  CO Monte Carlo 15. 53 Joshua Meranda Laramie WY 78 Camaro 16. 29 Rayshawn Carter Commerce City  CO ’92 Monte Carlo 17. 27 Wendi Lewis Johnstown  CO 02 Grand Prix 18. 22 Joe Matlock (R) Aurora  CO ’03 Dodge Avenger

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 06 Adam Hilton Brighton  CO 2. 34 Rudy Vanderwal LaSalle  CO 99 Ford F150 3. 41 Mark Neff Eaton  CO 4. 36 Matt Burton Englewood  CO 08 Silverado 5. 31 Justin Simonson Wheatridge  CO 6. 5 Troy Whittar Eastlake  CO 04 Chevy Silverado 7. 27 Roger Avants Littleton  CO 8. 11 Steve Johnson Windsor  CO 9. 15 Mike Bernard Ft Collins  CO F150 10. 29 Matthew Brunker Lakewood  CO 2000 Truck 11. 10A Andy Bellomy (R) 12. 23 Skylar Rhoades (R)

SUNOCO Race Fuels Grand American Modifieds Pos No. Name Hometown Car Info 1. 77 Jeff Hansen Berthoud  CO 2. 0 Ron O’Neil (R) 3. 8 Dan Alamaa Colorado Springs  CO 95 Modified 4. 21 Jeff Hunter Brighton  CO 5. 24 Tim Holm 6. 18A Blane Lujan 7. 66 John Seely Parker  CO 12 Impala 8. 2 Willard Nash 9. 44 Justin Case Brighton  CO 10. 11 Tom Evans Cheyenne  WY 2010 Volt 11. 52 Jared Wall 12. 55 Dean Olson DNS 88 Jeff Walbaum

Recent Posts

Champions crowned at CNS.

(09-28-2013 Dacono, CO) Lee Kemmit powered his GTI Camaro to the final Late Model feature win of the 2013 season but it was Gering Nebraska’s Paul Deines who brought home the season championship. Jeff

Darren Robertson wins Challenge Cup XXXIX

(09-21-2013 Dacono, CO) The only thing sure going into Challenge Cup XXXIX was that Bruce Yackey was on route to winning his 8th track championship but he would have liked to add a Challenge Cup win t


bottom of page