top of page

Walbaum Holds off Scott to take Chick-Fil-A Family Night at CNS

(06-23-2018 Dacono CO) A determined Jeff Walbaum from Brighton Colorado held off a late challenge from Cheyenne’s Michael Scott to win the Snap-On Tools Pro Truck feature event. Brett Yackey found victory circle in the Galitz Transportation Late Models and Tim Coate, Kyle Clegg and Chris Voorhis were also crowned winner’s own the evening.

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks In the previous Snap-On Tools Pro Truck feature #82 Michael Scott tracked down race leader #8 Jeff Walbaum to take the lead and the win. This race featured the exact same scenario with Walbaum way out front early and Scott working his way to try to catch the leader.

However this time around Walbaum was able to keep Scott at bay and take home his first win of the season. Walbaum ran a masterful race and even a late caution that put Scott right on his tail wasn’t going to deter Walbaum who seemed determined to get the win.

Behind Walbaum and Scott #22 Brian Yackey finished 3rd, Troy Witthar in the 5w was 4th and #33 Tyler Davis was the final truck in the top 5. The Pro Trucks will return to action on Saturday July 21st.

FEATURE: #8 Jeff Walbaum FAST DASH: #33 Tyler Davis

QUICK TIME: #82 Michael Scott 17.371

Galitz Trucking Late Models

2018 has been pretty much all Brett Yackey in the 7y Late Model. Yackey has now won 3 out of 3 features this season in the division. Yackey would need to get by early race leader Derek Smith in the #31 car who appeared to be the car to beat in the feature early in the race. But as Smith began to fade Yackey and #76 Chad Cowen began to flex their muscle and took control of the race. Cowen looked to be closing in on Yackey as the race near completion but was never able to find away around Yackey for the win.

Derek Smith in the #31 jumps out to the early lead in the late Model division (Starr photo)

With Cowen finishing 2nd the points race stays amazing close with Yackey just 14 ahead of Cowen in 2nd . The Galitz Transportation Late Models return to action on Saturday July 8th.

7y Brett Yackey won his 3rd Late Model feature of the season (Starr photo)

FEATURE: 7y Brett Yackey FAST DASH: 7y Brett Yackey

DASH: #16 Steve Mills

QUICK TIME: #76 Chad Cowen 17.812

Lincoln Tech Pure Stocks

Tim Coate in the gray #86 won his first ever Lincoln Tech Pure Stock feature coming all the way from his 14th starting spot. Coate had to work his way through some fast cars including #7 David Robinson and #31 Mike Mathiesen who both led the race early.

#86 Tim Coate and #03 Tyler Mander battle for position (Starr photo)

Coate also had to navigate traffic as well as hold off a late race charge from #03 Tyler Mander who started dead last in the feature. The big win for Coate moved him into 3rd place in points just behind Ryan Raley Jr. and Mander. The Pure Stocks return to action on Saturday July 28th.

Coate takes the checkered flag! (Starr photo)

FEATURE: #86 Tim Coate FAST DASH: #7 David Robinson

DASH: #03 Tyler Mander

QUICK TIME: #60 Matthew Hill 20.638

Elite V Twin Legend Cars Danny Medina started on the pole position foe the Elite V Twin Legend Car feature event and used it to his advantage to take the early lead. #05 Nick Cooper was determined to make a race of it hounding Medina through the first portion of the race. The normally error-free Medina made an uncharacteristic mistake when he spun coming out of turn 2. This spin would later come back to haunt him.

While Medina continued without bringing out the caution Kyle Clegg inherited the lead and cruised to victory his 3rd of the 2018 season. Medina would get caught up in a late race crash as he was working his way back to the front. When all the dust settled Clegg had regained the season points lead by 8 over Medina.

FEATURE: #66 Kyle Clegg FAST DASH: #66 Kyle Clegg

DASH: #19 Larry Pachello

QUICK TIME: #66 Kyle Clegg 18.788

Figure 8s 21 years ago Chris Voorhis won the Figure 8 championship at CNS and now he’s back in action and returning to form. Voorhis won his dash and then proceeded to lead every lap of the feature event to take home the big win. While Voorhis led by a large margin the entire race that giant lead evaporated on the final lap when he struggled to get by a slower car. Jared “Wally” Wall in the #52 car came storming up to the finish line giving everything he had but was just a few feet short of stealing the win from Voorhis.

Chris Voorhis takes the checkered flag at CNS (Starr photo)

The Figure 8s will be back in action Saturday July 7th.

Chris Voorhis in winner’s circle (Starr photo)

FEATURE: #35 Chris Voorhis FAST DASH: #52 Jared Wall

DASH: #35 Chris Voorhis


Pro Trucks Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 8 Jeff Walbaum Brighton 2. 82 Michael Scott Cheyenne 3. 22 Brian Yackey (R) Greeley 4. 5W Troy Witthar Eastlake 5. 33 Tyler Davis Thornton 6. 71 Timothy DuVall Denver 7. 36 Matt Burton Englewood 8. 77 Reggie Brown Jr (R) Arvada 9. 11 Steve Johnson Windsor

Late Models Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 7Y Brett Yackey Greeley 2. 76 Chad Cowan Gering 3. 31 Derek Smith Mead 4. 53G Nathan Gasser Westminster 5. 07 Dave Hondel (R) Cheyenne 6. 11 Monte Paulsen Pueblo West 7. 24 Eric Bowers (R) Colorado Springs 8. 85 Don Cole (R) Dacono 9. 72 Gary Cagle Ft Collins 10. 94 Kyle Morse Peyton 11. 16 Steve Mills Colorado Springs 12. 98P Natalie Phelps (R) Cheyenne 13. 50 Justin McKeachie (R) 14. 27 Wendi Lewis Johnstown 15. 28 Alan Carter Ogallala 16. 29 Rayshawn Carter Denver 17. 6 Jason Sharp Fountain

Pure Stocks Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 86 Tim Coate Highlands Ranch 2. 03 Tyler Mander Evans 3. 99R Ryan Raley Jr Thornton 4. 23 Jordan Abeyta Denver 5. 33X Chadron Denman Commerce City 6. 7 David Robinson Johnstown 7. 18W Keanna Weber Henderson 8. 52 Chad Sutherland Commerce City 9. 51 Joseph Dike Westminster 10. 21 Jay Hill Denver 11. 23G Michael Gallo Loveland 12. 97 Jay Sandoval Commerce City 13. 22 Addison J Hill Brighton 14. 31 Michael Mathiesen Dacono 15. 02 Chan Raley Thornton 16. 1NE Alexis Charette 17. 60 Matt Hill Brighton 18. 88 Jacob Poole Evans 19. 68J Matt Sowash Lakewood 20. 17 Shannon Dyne 21. 38 Jesse Davis Thornton 22. 3 Brian Lengvenas Thornton DNS 3T Christopher Galvin

Legend Cars Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 66 Kyle Clegg Westminster 2. 98 Brent Scheidemantle Broomfield 3. 3 Wayne Barlock Jr Evans 4. 32 Blair Cooper Pueblo 5. 96 Ryan Rudolph (R) Denver 6. 21 Ryan Jones Arvada 7. 46 Zachary Witherwax Arvada 8. 30 Darrell J Stewart Arvada 9. 16 Travis Roe Thornton 10. 86 Travis Rudolph Denver 11. 19 Larry Pachello Arvada 12. 20 Kynzer Riddell Westminster 13. 33 Dean Kallas Golden 14. 05 Nick Cooper Loveland 15. 48 Cody Dempster Parker 16. 08 Krystal Faulkingham Westminster 17. 88 Paul Himler Erie 18. 28 Adam Powers(R) Silverthorne 19. 27 Ray Oakley Denver 20. 10 Adam Romero Denver 21. 95 Jessilyn Dike(R) Westminster 22. 9 Terry McBride Edgewater 23. 72 Cynthia Robb (R) Wheatridge 24. 78 Ashlyn Himler(R) Erie 25. 6 Scotty Scott Arvada 26. 15 Danny Medina Colorado Springs 27. 13 Jason Hulvey Thornton 28. 44 Alfred Matthews Arvada 29. 8 Eric Hipkins* Woodland

Figure 8s Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 35 Chris Voorhis Thornton 2. 52 Jared Wall Commerce City 3. 2 Jeremy Jackson Lakewood 4. 25 Phil Taylor Henderson 5. 3 Mike Wolfe Jr Westminster 6. 15 Jereme Wall Commerce City 7. 8 Brian McCartney (R) Colorado Springs 8. 50 Justin McKeachie Aurora 9. 12 Harvey Webb Jr Thornton 10. 18 Amanda Stepanich (R) Arvada 11. 4 Sean Smith Greeley 12. 17 Harry Livermore Jr. Denver 13. 7 Daniel Wood (R) Greeley 14. 33 Bobby Hutchings Denver DNS 11 Joe Gastineau Centennial DNS 40 Mike Mercer Byers


bottom of page