top of page

Dramatic Feature Events Highlight K&N Filter Heritage Night at CNS

(08-04-2018, Dacono CO) It was K&N Racing Heritage night at CNS and not only were the fans treated some amazing vintage race cars courtesy of the Colorado Vintage Oval Racers but every feature event was highlighted with some incredibly close racing and dramatic finishes. Finding victory circle was: Jeff Walbaum in the Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks, Jason Irwin in the Elite V Twin Legend Cars, Justin Karrol in the Lincoln Tech Pure Stocks and Justin McKeachie in the Chick-Fil-A Figure 8s.

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks

At the start of the Snap-On Tools Pro Truck feature event there was an intense battle for the lead between 5w Troy Witthar and #36 Matt Burton but after Witthar began to slide through the field it was 7j Justin Simonson who found his way to the front and took control of the race.

5w Troy Witthar and #36 Matt Burton battle for the early lead (Starr photo)

#22 Brian Yackey, #43 Kody Vanderwal and points leader #82 Michael Scott were methodically working towards the front of the field but it was #8 Jeff Walbaum who pulled up on Simonson’s bumper as the laps wore down. It didn’t appear that Walbaum had enough to make a move but apparently he was saving it for the final lap as he made a thrilling pass for the lead and the win. Simonson crossed the line second and Yackey was 3rd. Kody Vanderwal and Michael Scott took the final two spots in the top five.

Jeff Walbaum celebrates in winner’s circle at CNS (Starr photo)

FEATURE: #8 Jeff Walbaum FAST DASH: #82 Michael Scott DASH: 7j Justin Simonson QUICK TIME: #9 Curtis Heldenbrand 17.520

Elite V-Twin Legend Cars

Jason Irwin from Albuquerque in the 9x car added to the excitement in the Legend Car division as he, #15 Danny Medina, #22 Chris Eggleston and #66 Kyle Clegg put on a wild show for the fans battling for the lead as they moved through slower traffic. It took a late race restart for Irwin to get by Medina but then it was Eggleston and Clegg who pushed hard for the lead making things uneasy for the talented Irwin.

A late race double-file restart for the Legend Cars (Starr photo)

When the checkered flag flew it was Irwin out front for the big win followed by Eggeston, Clegg and then Medina. #48 Cody Dempster ran strong late to snag the final spot in the top five.

Jason Irwin takes the checkered flag (Starr photo)

FEATURE: 9x Jason Irwin FAST DASH: #22 Cris Eggleston DASH: #16 Travis Roe QUICK TIME: #66 Kyle Clegg 18.692

Lincoln Tech Pure Stocks

Mike Matheisen in the #31 Lincoln Tech Pure Stock controlled almost the entire race in the feature event until #82 Justin Karrol finally caught him from behind. Both Matheisen and Karrol took turns leading the race when the other had trouble passing lapped traffic. In the end it was Karrol taking home the win followed Closely by Matheisen. 99R Ryan Raley was third with #7 David Robinson and #60 Matt Hill taking home 4th and 5th.

#31 Michael Matheisen on the outside and #82 Justin Karrol battle for the lead and lapped traffic (Star photo)

FEATURE: #82 Justin Karrol FAST DASH: #60 Matt Hill DASH: #02 Chan Raley QUICK TIME: #60 Matt Hill 20.534

Chick-Fil-A Figure 8s In one of the most dramatic feature events in recent memory the Chick-fil-A Figure 8s thrilled the crowd with daring action. But it was a crash in the “X” that changed the dynamic of the race. #15 Jereme Wall had built a large lead on the field but was involved in a violent t-bone crash in the X when he and #3 Michael Wolfe both appeared to hesitate approaching the X. As Wolfe entered the X Wall made almost a direct hit into the side of the 3 car sending them both spinning in a shower of sparks and twisted metal. Thankfully neither driver was injured but their chances of winning were over.

#15 Jereme Wall and #3 Michael Wolfe Jr. meet in the X (Starr photo)

#15 Jereme Wall and #3 Michael Wolfe Jr. meet in the X (Starr photo)

Justin McKeachie inherited the lead but even he was not in the clear as #52 Jared “Wally” Wall made a late charge and caught McKeachie with only a couple laps left in the race. Wall did everything in his power to get by the 50 car but couldn’t make the pass as McKeachie ended up victorious. Wall settled for 2nd with rookie Brian McCartney in the #8 finishing 3rd. #9 Brent Cave was 4th and #11 Joe Gastineau was 5th.

Justin McKeachie takes the win (Starr photo)

FEATURE: #50 Justin McKeachie FAST DASH: #15 Jereme Wall DASH: #9 Brent Cave


Pro Trucks Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 8 Jeff Walbaum Brighton 2. 7J Justin Simonson 3. 22 Brian Yackey (R) Greeley 4. 43 Kody Vanderwal La Salle 5. 82 Michael Scott Cheyenne 6. 33 Tyler Davis Thornton 7. 36 Matt Burton Englewood 8. 5W Troy Witthar Eastlake 9. 11 Steve Johnson Windsor 10. 71 Timothy DuVall Denver 11. 9 Curtis Heldenbrand Arvada 12. 6K Jonathan Knee Fort Collins

Legend Cars Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 9x Jason Irwin Albuquerque 2. 22 Chris Eggleston Thornton 3. 66 Kyle Clegg Westminster 4. 15 Danny Medina Colorado Springs 5. 48 Cody Dempster Parker 6. 3 Wayne Barlock Jr Evans 7. 05 Nick Cooper Loveland 8. 30 Darrell J Stewart Arvada 9. 6 Scotty Scott Arvada 10. 32 Blair Cooper Pueblo 11. 46 Zachary Witherwax Arvada 12. 16 Travis Roe Thornton 13. 21 Ryan Jones Arvada 14. 96 Ryan Rudolph (R) Denver 15. 08K Krystal Faulkingham Westminster 16. 9 Terry McBride Edgewater 17. 20 Kynzer Riddell* Westminster 18. 86 Travis Rudolph Denver 19. 19 Larry Pachello Arvada 20. 27 Ray Oakley Denver 21. 95 Jessilyn Dike(R) Westminster 22. 43 Rob Sears Firestone 23. 10 Adam Romero Denver 24. 5 Gary Wegener 25. 88 Paul Himler Erie 26. 78 Ashlyn Himler(R) Erie 27. 03 Darrell L Stewart Arvada

Pure Stocks Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 82 Justin Karrol LaSalle 2. 31 Michael Mathiesen Dacono 3. 99R Ryan Raley Jr Thornton 4. 7 David Robinson Johnstown 5. 60 Matt Hill Brighton 6. 86 Tim Coate Highlands Ranch 7. 51 Joseph Dike Westminster 8. 03 Tyler Mander Evans 9. 23 Jordan Abeyta Denver 10. 33X Chadron Denman Commerce City 11. 21 Jay Hill Denver 12. 02 Chan Raley Thornton 13. 43X Terri Pugliese Northglenn 14. 3T Christopher Galvin Thornton 15. 37 Scott Dent 16. 28 McCaslin Cain Severance 17. 18W Keanna Weber Henderson 18. 66 Tyler Van Den Elzen Greeley 19. 23A Alyssa Salazar Arvada 20. 23G Michael Gallo Loveland 21. 97 Jeremy Sandoval Commerce City DNS 38C Colton Green Arvada

Figure 8s Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 50 Justin McKeachie Aurora 2. 52 Jared Wall Commerce City 3. 8 Brian McCartney (R) Colorado Springs 4. 9 Brent Cave Commerce City 5. 11 Joe Gastineau Centennial 6. 4 Sean Smith Greeley 7. 7 Daniel Wood (R) Greeley 8. 18 Amanda Stepanich (R) Arvada 9. 17 Harry Livermore Jr. Denver 10. 15 Jereme Wall Commerce City 11. 3 Mike Wolfe Jr Westminster 12. 2 Jeremy Jackson Lakewood 13. 27 Luke Zike Morrison 14. 35 Chris Voorhis Thornton


bottom of page