top of page

Fireworks On And Off Track For Colorado State Patrol King Of The Wing Finale

July 3rd, 2022
Mother Nature played nice and even threw a rainbow in the sky behind Turn 3 at Colorado National Speedway for a while for the Colorado State Patrol King of the Wing Finale. The stands were packed with fans for a rare Sunday evening race to celebrate Independence Day, and they were treated to an awesome show complete with fireworks and Circle Drags on a warm summer night. CSP even got one of their patrol cars out on track to turn some laps during Circle Drags, much to the delight of CNS’s full house of fans.
Aaron Willison during his record setting qualifying run 13.131. Average Speed 102.83 MPH

King of the Wing Sprint Cars
Feature – 40 laps
The King of the Wing Sprint Cars are bad fast – so fast, the No. 14W of Aaron Willison, Saturday night’s feature winner, laid down a blistering lap and shattered the standing track record at CNS during his Sunday qualifying session. He completed his lap in just 13.131 seconds. There was plenty of great, fast racing as the winged race cars whipped past the grandstands and showed their finesse on asphalt. Unfortunately, Willison’s No. 14W suffered an engine blowout and was forced to retire from the feature race as he lost all forward drive and spewed oil and sparks down the front stretch. Other than that, the race continued without major incident as the Sprint Cars showed some good, clean racing.

Heat 1: No. 12 Monty Bergener

Heat 2: No. 14 Davey Hamilton Jr
Quick time: No. 14W Aaron Willison - 13.131 seconds 102.831 MPH Average Speed

AC Transmission and Total Car Care Legends
Feature – 25 Laps
A huge car count made for a great Legends race, as 28 cars took the green flag for the feature event. The No. 16 driven by Travis Roe leaped out front early, followed by the No. 03 of Darrell Stewart and the No. 89 of Zach Morris. Three laps in, the No. 48 of Preston Nakayama wrecked in Turn 4, causing a caution. The race restarted, and shortly thereafter, the No. 4 of Dillon Foster spun heading into Turn 3, but the track stayed green and he was able to continue on. A shakeup happened at the front of the field as the No. 22 of Chris Eggleston took control, followed by the No. 21 of Ryan Jones. With 16 laps to go, Jones spun at the apex of Turns 3 and 4, causing a caution. Danny Medina in the No. 15 appeared in the battle for the top spot on the restart, challenging Eggleston’s No. 22. They traded the lead back and forth for a few laps before a wreck unfolded between the No. 39 of Zeke Hanger and the No. 78P of Paul Himler slowed the field once again. Hanger showed displeasure with Himler and made contact with him on the back stretch. Both were black flagged as a result.

Eggleston’s No. 22 made the low groove work as he battled it out with the No. 15 of Medina. A multicar wreck in Turn 1 forced a yellow flag with eight laps left, and when the green waved again, Medina and Eggleston took off and pulled away from the pack as they dueled for the race lead. A single-car incident caused yet another caution flag with five laps left. On the restart, Eggleston’s No. 22 leaped ahead of Medina’s No. 15 and tried to run away with the lead, but just couldn’t shake that white No. 15 machine. It all came down to the last lap, going into turn 1, Medina bumped Eggleston causing him to drift up the track allowing Medina to get by. Headed into turn 3, Medina fended off a final effort by Eggleston, crossing the finish line in first for his fourth straight Legend feature win of the season as the crowd cheered him on.
Danny Medina & Chris Eggleston Battle for Lead CNS 7-3-22

Feature: No. 15, Danny Medina

Dash: No. 32 Cody Milan
Fast Dash: No. 21 Ryan Jones
Quick Time: Scratched Due to Rain

Elite Diesel Service Figure 8s
Feature – 20 Laps
The No. 97 of Adam Gastineau showed the way to the green flag for the Figure 8 feature race, with the No. 08 of Travis Sanders close behind. Didn’t take long for the No. 15 driven by Jereme Wall to find the front of the field, though, and he started putting pressure on the leaders. The No. 78 of Kayla Martinez got slow exiting The X, and the leaders had to scatter to avoid a collision, but they gathered their race cars back up and continued on unscathed. The tail end of the field began to trail off, creating obstacles as the leaders dove through the crossroads. The No. 08 of Sanders tried to put pressure on Jereme Wall’s No. 15 for the race lead. Two race cars were then involved in an incident diving into Turn 3, the No. 18 of Dennis Stepanich III and the No. 67D of Keith Swenson made contact causing a caution flag and both were sent to the rear as a result. Then, polesitter No. 97, Gastineau, spun near the entrance to Pit Road, ending his hopes of winning for the night. Wall’s No. 15 race car continued to show the way, dodging several close calls through The X, even as the pack went two- and three-wide through the crossroads. Nothing would stand in Wall’s way, though, and he guided the No. 15 to the night’s feature victory to the roar of the full house in the CNS grandstands.
Figure 8's chasing Jereme Wall #15 CNS 7-3-22

Feature: No. 15, Jereme Wall

Dash: No. 92 Jason Wall
Fast Dash: No. 15 Jereme Wall

Puzzle Effect – Denver Escape Room Bandoleros
Bandit Class - 10 Laps
Wyatt Dent is proving himself to be quite the wheelman, piloting his No. 68 Bandolero machine to another feature victory on Sunday night, holding off the No. 5 of Reagan Fruge to nab the Bandit feature win.
Wyatt Dent in Victory Lane CNS 7-3-22

Main: No. 68 Wyatt Dent

Heat 1: No. 12 Aspyn Lange
Heat 2: No. 68 Wyatt Dent

Outlaw Class - 10 Laps
Dillyn Kellogg, No. 33, wheeled his race car around the short Bandolero speedway in Turns 1 and 2, scoring a checkered flag before he had to run to mount into his No. 33 Legend car.
Dillyn Kellogg Bandolero Victory CNS 7-3-22

Main: No. 33 Dillyn Kellogg

Heat 1: No. 33 Dillyn Kellogg


Legend Cars

  1. 15 Danny Medina - CO Springs

  2. 22 Chris Eggleston - Thornton

  3. 66 Kyle Clegg - Westminster

  4. 16 Travis Roe - Thornton

  5. 50 Tyler Wiggans - CO Springs

  6. 03 Darrell L. Stewart - Arvada

  7. 6 Scotty Scott - Arvada

  8. 37 Tanner Scarberry - Denver

  9. 21 Ryan Jones - Arvada

  10. 00 Chris Saykally

  11. 32 Cody Milan - Fort Collins

  12. 89 Zach Morris - Greenwood Village

  13. 4 Dillon Foster - Arvada

  14. 45 Cole Tuttle - Denver

  15. 9 Terry McBride - Edgewater

  16. 18 JJ Sanders - Aurora

  17. 95 Jessilyn Dike - Westminster

  18. 48 Preston Nakayama (R) - Loveland

  19. 97 Bill Blevins - Arvada

  20. 1 Ryan Land (R) - Littleton

  21. 23 Javon Barnard (R) - Wheat Ridge

  22. 51 Casey Wiggans - CO Springs

  23. 99 Tessa Marine - Littleton

  24. 39 Zeke Hanger

  25. 78P Paul Himler - Erie

  26. 34 Zach Mullins (R) - Greeley

  27. 04 Natalie Foster - Westminster DNS 2 Brett Reid

Figure 8's

  1. 15 Jereme Wall - Commerce City

  2. 52 Jared Wall - Commerce City

  3. 08 Travis Sanders - Aurora

  4. 92 Jason Wall - Brighton

  5. 13M Isaac Martinez - Denver

  6. 17 Harry Livermore Jr - Denver

  7. 18 Dennis Stepanich III - Thornton

  8. D67 Keith Swenson - Strasburg

  9. 64 Michael Kephart - Commerce City

  10. 51 Chad Sutherland (R) - Commerce City

  11. 38 Cassidy Creekmore - Littleton

  12. 97 Adam Gastineau - Aurora

  13. 74 Sam Faus (R) - Lakewood

  14. 20 Isaiah Proctor (R)

  15. 5 Curtis Chavez

  16. 78 Kalya Martinez (R) - Denver DNS 67 Kaleigh Swenson - Strasburg



  1. 68 Wyatt Dent

  2. 5 Reagan Fruge

  3. 12 Aspyn Lange

  4. 89 Justin Barnard

  5. 61 Lillian Tuttle

  6. 23O Peyton Opperman

  7. 08 Tanner McKim DNS 44E Emersyn Weitzel


  1. 33 Dillyn Kellogg

  2. 00 Jacob Johnson

  3. 21 Madilyn Lange

  4. 16 Emmalee Phelps


bottom of page