top of page

Scott takes 50 Lapper, Wilson, Messerli, and McKeachie also Win

Saturday April 28th Colorado National Speedway held the AutoNation Drive Pink Dacono Night. The Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks took the headline event with a 50 lap A-Main event and Michael Scott Dominated as the rest of field battled hard to the checkered flag. The Sunoco Race Fuel Grand American Modified ran a action packed 30 lap main which saw a first time Colorado National Speedway winner Charlie Wilson. The Great Scott’s Eatery Super Stocks ran a nail biting A-Main event as Brett Yackey and race winner Sam Messerli battled door to door to the checkered flag. Justin McKeachie won a thrilling Chick-Fil-A Figure 8’s A-Main event.

The SnapOn Tools Pro Trucks prepare for their 50 lap main event. (Starr photo)

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks The Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks had a great truck count for their first 50 lap race of the year, starting with a field of 15 trucks. Early in the main event the 36 truck of Matt Burton and the 22 of Brian Yackey raced hard for the lead. A early yellow flag brought the field back together and allowed for the 82 of Michael Scott to grab the lead and never look back. The 82 appeared to be on rails as the rest of filed fought hard for second place.

Michael Scott celebrates after taking the Auto Nation Drive Pink Feature event at CNS (Starr photo)

Quick Time: Michael Scott 17.294 Dash Winner: Matt Burton Fast Dash Winner: Curtis Heldenbrand Main Event Winner: Michael Scott

Sunoco Race Fuel Grand American Modifieds The Grand American Modifieds ran a great main event with lots of lead changes. The 48 was the fastest car all night but had to start at the rear of field but watching him race through the pack was exciting to see. A caution with 8 laps to go put the field side by side and made for a amazing finish as the 59, 58, and 48 battled for the lead. The 59 of Charlie Wilson took is first career win at Colorado National Speed as he edged out Kyle Ray and Preston Peltier.

Charlie Wilson shocked the SUNOCO Race Fuels Grand American Modified field by edging out Kyle ray and Preston Peltier for the win (Starr photo)

Quick Time: Preston Peltier 17.111 Dash Winner: Ron O’Neal Fast Dash Winner: Preston Peltier Main Event Winner: Charlie Wilson

Great Scotts Eatery Super Stocks The Super Stocks, mixed with a few Pure Stocks, put on a nail biting down to the wire main event. At one point during this race you didn’t know what to watch as the whole field battled over every inch of the racetrack.

The Super Stocks thrilled the CNS fans in their first appearance of 2018 at CNS (Starr photo)

The 7y and the 99s battled door to door for 5 laps as they fought through lapped traffic. When the checkered flag flew you couldn’t shine a light between the 99s and 7y when crossed the finish line but the 99s took the win.

99s Sam Messerli and 7y Brett Yackey battle for the win (Starr photo)

Quick Time: Chris Cox 19.765 Dash Winner: Nicholas Tabor Fast Dash Winner: Chris Cox Main Event Winner Sam Messerli

Chick-Fil-A Figure 8s

The Figure 8s had a thrilling and action packed main event. The 9 of Brent Cave started on pole and was holding his own until a mid race caution brought the field together.

#50 Justin McKeachie leads the field of Figure 8s in to the X (Starr photo)

After the green flag flew the 50, 9, 15, and 52 were blazing around track waving in between and in and out darting gaps in the X and racing their harts out. When the checkered flag waved the 50 of McKeachie took the win.

Justin McKeachie celebrates in winner’s circle at CNS (Starr photo)

Official Race Results

Pro Trucks Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 82 Michael Scott Cheyenne 2. 36 Matt Burton Englewood 3. 22 Brian Yackey (R) Greeley 4. 34n Jay Fields Pueblo West 5. 43 Kody Vanderwal La Salle 6. 34 Rudy Vanderwal La Salle 7. 8 Jeff Walbaum Brighton 8. 5W Troy Witthar Eastlake 9. 65 George Green Firestone 10. 7J Justin Simonson Brighton 11. 71 Timothy DuVall Denver 12. 11 Steve Johnson Windsor 13. 77 Reggie Brown Jr (R) Arvada 14. 9 Curtis Heldenbrand Arvada 15. 6D Rick Duckworth

Grand American Modifieds Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 59 Charlie Wilson Primrose 2. 58 Kyle Ray Littleton 3. 18 Ed Vecchiarelli Brighton 4. 44s Clint Schubert Calhan 5. 44 Justin Case Brighton 6. 0 Ron ONeil Colorado Springs 7. 77 Daniel Liebert (R) Loveland 8. 72 Ryan Higgs Lakewood 9. 88 Brad Skufca (R) Cheyenne 10. 85 Donald Cole Dacono 11. 57B Brady Balderston Aurora 12. 7 Michael McGinn (R) Thornton 13. 13 Darin Clark Cheyenne 14. 5 Mark Bensenberg (R) Calhan 15. 84 Aaron Paulsen Pueblo West DQ 48 Preston Peltier

Super Stocks Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 99S Sam Messerli Thornton 2. 7Y Brett Yackey Greeley 3. 3 Michael Cox Englewood 4. 3.2 Robert Davey Erie 5. 43 Kody Vanderwal La Salle 6. 11s Kyle Schoessow Thornton 7. 21 Christopher Nelson Arvada 8. 32 Cody Milan (R) Ft. Collins 9. 32M Kyle Morse Peyton 10. 55 Damian Lockhart Arvada 11. 21R Robert Hoard Cheyenne 12. 19 Shelby Cortese Thornton 13. 86 Tim Coate Highlands Ranch 14. 88 Nicholas Davis Cheyenne 15. 02 Darrell Smith Littleton 16. 24x Aaron Masters (R) 17. 43 Terri Pugliese Northglenn 18. 98 Natalie Phelps Cheyenne 19. 16 Dimitrios Bastianos Greeley 20. 30 Jared Keener* Westminster 21. 11t Nicholas Tabor Cheyenne 22. 29 Justin Griffin 23. 49 Chris Cox Lochbuie 24. 60 Matthew Hill Brighton 25. 45 Rebecca Simpson Colo Springs 26. 27 Christopher Hageman Commerce City 27. 03 Tyler Mander Evans 28. 92 Wayne Kretzmeier

Figure 8 Pos No. Name Hometown 1. 50 Justin McKeachie Aurora 2. 9 Brent Cave Commerce City 3. 17 Harry Livermore Jr. Denver 4. 25 Phil Taylor Henderson 5. 7 Daniel Wood (R) Greeley 6. 15 Jereme Wall Commerce City 7. 12 Harvey Webb Jr Thornton 8. 52 Jared Wall Commerce City 9. 4 Sean Smith Greeley 10. 18 Amanda Stepanich (R) Arvada 11. 3 Mike Wolfe Jr Westminster 12. 35 Chris Voorhis Thornton 13. 2 Jeremy Jackson Lakewood 14. 8 Brian McCartney (R) Colorado Springs 15. 11 Joe Gastineau Centennial


bottom of page